We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but uncomfortable hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Natchez Eola Hotel

Save Saved
You added Natchez Eola Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Natchez Eola Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Pearl Street, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Natchez
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful but uncomfortable hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel located in downtown Natchez that is on the National Register of Historic Places. The lobby is beautiful and decorated with antique furniture. The elevators have lots of brass so many features of the 1927 hotel are still there. The staff was friendly. We were on the 6th floor and unfortunately, as with other historic hotels we've stayed at, the room was a bit cramped. We're pretty thin people so it might be even more cramped for others. What I fault them for is having an uncomfortable bed. Both of us thought that it was too firm. I would think that they could get some toppers to put on the beds to make them softer. Also, there weren't extra pillows which I sort of would expect in place that is charging $120-150 per night. It was a romantic hotel but neither of us got a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    78
    61
    48
    25
See reviews for
25
115
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and me spent there 2 nights and it was very nice. The staff is very friendly ant they serve a good breakfast. The hotel is located in the center of the city and everything is easy to walk. You can see a lot of beautiful houses by walking. There are a lot of antebellum house. Natchez is the town of the antebellum houses. If you want to see all of it you better go by car.
Valet parking.

Room Tip: When you like to smoke a cigaret, ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Eola is a great historical landmark and the lobby and bar areas are wonderful. The rooms, however, are extremely tired and very small. If you choose to stay, I would recommend a king corner room at least you have more light coming into the room. The TV was from 1985 and small, the bedspread made you wonder when it was last cleaned. The pillows were by far the stiffest I have ever experienced. The bathroom was very small, the toilet rocked back and forth, with a loose bolt. The shower curtain had a bit of mold at the bottom. I would recommend staying elsewhere and coming over to have a drink in the bar and look at the lobby.

We tried to make coffee the first morning on the small table and when we went to make coffee the second morning we found that the pot still had our old coffee in it. Simple things like better bedding, newer TVs, cleaner carpeting, rounded out shower curtain rod and updated shower curtain would make a big difference.

Room Tip: Get a corner King with two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is in a nice central location in downtown Natchez. It's very easy to walk to all the little shops and homes downtown, as well as the river. I stayed here for work in the middle of the week in February. My co-worker booked it, and when I checked out I was a little bit surprised at the rate for a double room: not because it was expensive in the general sense, but because it was twice the nearby hotels. The hotel was a bit dated. I loved the ornate decor and architecture in the lobby, but the rooms could use updating. The courtyard was very pretty. Parking was located nearby and was free.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siloam Springs, Arkansas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We only spent one night in Natchez. I chose the Eola because it was really affordable and looked authentically "Natchez." Overall, I was really impressed. I expected the place to be a bit tired and in need of a makeover, and while that is the case, it was still charming. I suppose if you visit the Eola Hotel expecting pristine and modern, you will be disappointed. But if you are interested in a charming old southern hotel, you likely will be pleased. We were on the 5th floor with a corner room on the opposite side of the building from the elevator. The room was a good size with lots of windows (including one in the bathroom). The views of downtown and the river bridge were great. It was December, so we didn't take advantage of this, but there was a ceiling fan in the room. I imagine that is a nice perk in the heat of summer. While this didn't bother us, the noise from the heating/air being on might be bothersome to people. It was quite loud, but it was a constant sort of drone, so we found it easy/relaxing to sleep to. If you are looking for charm and something other than a B&B in Natchez, take a look at the Eola.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'm not giving this hotel a 5 star because it had all the modern up to date amenities, it doesn't and the wifi was weak. However, this place was really neat and at one time you could tell this was the place to go.

Built in 1927 in the heart of downtown Natchez, the Eola hotel has an opulent lobby with very ornate furniture and a gorgeous courtyard. Restaurant and Bar in the building as well.

Our room was older but well maintained with walking distance to many sites, horse carriage rides, restaurants and some antebellum homes. Our room price in November was $85. Hence the 5 star rating for this special place. You don't see many hotels like this anymore.

We did not eat there but wish we'd had more time to do so.

Thank you to Emily at the Visitor Center who recommended it to us after hearing what we wanted to do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were in Natchez for New Year's, and had a room on the top floor of the hotel. Great view, comfortable bed, and the staff was very friendly. The location was great - just a few blocks from shopping on Franklin St, from the bluff-walk along the river, and from many of the city's most incredible restaurant. Free parking was abundant for hotel guests. We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natchez Eola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natchez Eola Hotel

Address: 110 Pearl Street, Natchez, MS 39120
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Natchez Eola Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Natchez Eola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natchez Eola Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.