We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Old Charming Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Natchez Eola Hotel

Save Saved
You added Natchez Eola Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Natchez Eola Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Pearl Street, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Natchez
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful Old Charming Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We just stayed overnight on tour. A very old fashioned hotel but the lobby is spectacular with old furniture and antiques with a lovely balcony overlooking it from the first floor. The room was very small and old fashioned but spotlessly clean. Wouldnt have liked to stay more than one night though due to room size. We like a bit bigger and more modern room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Good Thai just a street back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    72
    59
    46
    25
See reviews for
23
111
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because my sister had read about it in a book and I made it happen for her. If you aren't into small old fashion rooms this isn't the place for you. But we found it charming and beautiful. The room is small but we had a wonderful balcony that we could see the Mississippi River from which was almost as big as the room. The check in was great, since I am a member of both AAA and AARP we got a discount. They also takes dogs which we liked. The parking can be a problem but since we were early we got to park behind the hotel. The hotel was built in 1827 and is only 6 floors it does have an elevator. The lobby has great charm. They were having a tour group that day so we took our pictures and we back to our room. The hotel is on a street with several small restaurants and bars. You can have room service which is okay but not great. Over all my sister was happy we stayed here and I am glad that I could make her happy. But if you aren't into old world charm this isn't for you.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor so you can get a better view of the Mississippi River
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

In this case, it was very good value, and suited our needs very well at the time. The room was old-fashioned, but in this sense was charming, and the hotel itself is gracious and clean. We arrived after an extremely wet drive down the Natchez Parkway and basically wanted the ease of parking outside, walking in, being shown the room and...phew! It was just what the Dr ordered. Don't expect pretentious service. The staff were friendly and ernest, and that atrium is a gorgeous trip back in time. I was relieved that Natchez has this kind of hotel. The town itself is so historic and as an Australian from Sydney, I did get the feeling that I was back in the old South. Look, the breakfast was OK, but what the heck, it's the people that count most of all when you're a traveller, and they were lovely. Do the driving tour and you may see a grand old mansion that you'll choose to stay in for part of your visit to Natchez. We'd had a Southern Belle experience at Vicksburg which was also wonderful, and the Eola being from a different era, gave a nice contrast and was certainly easy to check into.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

When you book into an old hotel like this, you know not to expect modern 'chain' quality rooms - that's part of the charm. The lobby is wonderful: old furniture, Southern memorabilia, antiques etc. The rate for a King ($98) is good too, plus you're located within a hundred yards or so of a number of busy restaurants and a riverside walk. Our room was as small as you'd expect/fear of an older hotel; the bathroom had seen better days but nothing to worry about. So why only three stars? Firstly, the air-con was very noisy, but mainly because of the breakfast. This was greasy, overpriced ($11) and they charged us extra for coffee. EXTRA FOR COFFEE. Shocking. $11 for breakfast and coffee is extra. I complained at the front desk but the girl said that she didn't know anything about the breakfast area. I know it's only a few dollars but it meant we walked out feeling ripped off. Shame.

Room Tip: Ask for a river-facing room with a balcony - we didn't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We only spent one night in this hotel but we enjoyed our stay. The Eola is like stepping back in time from the reception area with is 9 foot vases to the decor in the hotel rooms. The receptionist was constantly busy and you did feel a bit like you were causing her hassle by checking in or asking questions but ultimately she was helpful and provided all the information we requested. Like others, the bathroom was probably the biggest downside. It was a bit dated and the water was incredibly soft so it was hard to get soap off your hands (we decided not to shower as it would take hours!) There was also no cold water - the cold tap produced luke warm water.
The room was a reasonable size (but not that big) and we had a lovely view out to the street and Natchez buildings.
It was an enjoyable stay and we loved our horse and cart ride around Natchez, making use of the short amount of time we had there. I would recommend this hotel for short stays.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the Eola and were checked in by friendly staff who were helpful. The lobby reminds you of when this hotel was grand, is still is mostly, if a little dark.

However, the rooms are very small and extremely dated. The bath in our room was damaged and peeling and the sink came away from the wall.

Our main issue was the service we received in the restaurant. It was sunday and most of the restaurants in town were shut so we chose to eat at the hotel. We arrived at 8:15pm to eat with the advertised closing time of 9pm. The room was empty apart from one other party who were just finishing. We were reluctantly shown our table by the waitress and immediately felt rushed to order as she announced the restaurant was shutting! We placed our order, a starter to share and two main meals.

The waitress didn't even bring our starter and the food was very poor. The Caesar salad with prawns was very average and the catfish was dry and served with frozen fries. No salad on the side as advertised. No check on our meals and to cap the night off the chef (well guy who cooked our meals) took the opportunity to walk out the kitchen, eyeball us and then turn around back to his kitchen.

Our worst experience on a tour of the south staying in 7 hotels and eating out every day.

Stay somewhere else in Natchez and if it's open eat at Pearl Street Pasta - it is a great relaxed restaurant and received great southern hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Must have been an amazing hotel when it opened 50 years ago, but not much work have been changed since then on it.
Very small rooms ( we even had to book an extra room for our kids) and very dirty.
Our bedlinnen wasn't clean and had burnmarks in them.
Toilet didn't flush and after complaining, nobody came to fix it.
Breakfast was way too expensive.
Avoid this place if you can.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Natchez Eola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natchez Eola Hotel

Address: 110 Pearl Street, Natchez, MS 39120
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Natchez Eola Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Otel, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Natchez Eola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natchez Eola Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.