We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Alley Cafe

Cotton Alley Cafe
208 Main street, Natchez, MS 39120
601-442-7452
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 89 Restaurants in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Contemporary, Family Fare
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere, wonderful waiter, great food. I ordered the shrimp and catfish. It was so much food. My mom and I split it! Defiantly worth a stop!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    85
    26
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Not just good but open”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After cataloguing a number of tripadvisor's recommended restaurants in Natchez we were quite disheartened to find that all those at the top of our list were closed (Monday dinner) and most often without any advice as to when they would next be open - if ever. Cotton Alley was on our fall-back list but it least it had the advantage of being open. Soon after we arrived the place filled to capacity and it was not hard to see why (apart from their being little other choice). A small-town restaurant with friendly service, a decent menu and very tasty dishes at very reasonable prices. The decor is a bit eclectic and the wine list, such as it is, would not cut it in a more competitive market but we enjoyed our dinner and the portions were more than adequate. We decided that if any of our first choices were still not open the next night then there would have no disappointment in returning. Natchez is not the culinary capital of the Mississippi but Cotton Alley is an honest, comfortable and economical dining option - and it's open.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poinciana, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We'd go back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed our lunch so much, we went back for dinner! The gumbo was good, the fresh fish was good, and the service was excellent. All this when it was a busy time for them at dinner. Its location is also convenient to the downtown area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, CO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great find in Natchez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

You might walk by this restaurant and think it is just a cafe but your will miss one of the best restaurants in the area. It's only a block from the Grand Hotel overlooking the Mississpi River. The restaurant does not have a huge menu but what ever you order it will be outstanding.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hohenwald, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived without a reservation, but they were able to seat us quickly. Our waiter was very nice and very efficient. The food was excellent. I had the grilled redfish with crabmeat sauce, and my husband had the jambalaya pasta. We finished with a piece of lemon cake - moist and yummy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotton Alley Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cotton Alley Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Alley Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.