We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Natchez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Alley Cafe

Cotton Alley Cafe
208 Main street, Natchez, MS 39120
601-442-7452
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 89 Restaurants in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Contemporary, Family Fare
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Erie, CO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great find in Natchez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

You might walk by this restaurant and think it is just a cafe but your will miss one of the best restaurants in the area. It's only a block from the Grand Hotel overlooking the Mississpi River. The restaurant does not have a huge menu but what ever you order it will be outstanding.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    85
    26
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hohenwald, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived without a reservation, but they were able to seat us quickly. Our waiter was very nice and very efficient. The food was excellent. I had the grilled redfish with crabmeat sauce, and my husband had the jambalaya pasta. We finished with a piece of lemon cake - moist and yummy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Slow service. Over cooked salmon.
Felt like we were in no mans land. Everyone but our table was waited on before us and we sat down before them.
Poor service.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petal, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was the best meal we had in Natchez, hands down! When we walked in, the owner greeted us and showed us to our table. Everyone spoke like we were family. The food was out of this world! The fried eggplant with the cucumber wasabi sauce was amazing and the bread pudding with whiskey sauce was the best I had ever eaten! We debated on going there that night for dinner too, and later wished we would have! I will visit the this little cafe every time I visit Natchez :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Local favorite to avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This place was packed last night. But unless you seek a wine list that includes only California chardonnay for white, and dishes like "Jambalaya Pasta" -- essentially a very oily fettucine alfredo with chicken and sliced sausage -- I'd say, skip it. Even in a state where good food = rich food, this was excessive, and not very tasty to boot. A bread pudding was good, but the sauce of sugar crystals kind of odd. Service was attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotton Alley Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cotton Alley Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Alley Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.