We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Memorable Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Riverside Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
211 Clinton Avenue, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 39 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
knoxville, tn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Most Memorable Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed two nights at the wonderful Riverside Bed and Breakfast. This inn is located on the bluff overlooking the Mississippi River. It was very relaxing to sit on the verandah, sip the wine that Durrel, the innkeeper provided to us, and watch the barges flow by. Durrel makes a delicious and very filling breakfast and is a most gracious host. He kept us entertained with his stories about his experiences in New Orleans society and was very helpful with dinner reservations. His bed and breakfast was filled with antiques that rivalled any mansion in Natchez. This bed and breakfast is a great place to stay while visiting the lovely city of Natchez.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

That's why we went back to Natchez. The river is what brought us to the Riverside B&B. My only regret is that we only stayed one night and it was too cold to sit out on the porch. Durrel's 8:30 breakfast was a true delight! The food was superb, the service was impeccable, and he made sure we met the other guests at breakfast. His stories were fun, and I can't wait to return (for better weather I hope). I generally have a rule that our lodging must have a website, but after reading the reviews, I made an exception. Yes, there is no wifi, and the tvs and beds may be small, but the location, host and food make up for all that. The house is old and beautifully decorated with a wonderful collection of antiques. But being right on the river is HUGE.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Happy to add the 50th "excellent" review here, especially since the glowing reviews are what convinced us to stay here. As everyone else has said, Durel is the most charming, caring and amusing host. He is also a flamboyant raconteur with stories to spare! If you have to leave, just cut him off mid-story - he's gracious about that too. We stayed in one of the two upstairs rooms and found everything perfectly comfortable. (We asked to remove a clock that was ticking too loudly for us, and Durel took care of it right away). As promised, there really is a river view from every room. And what a view it is! I posted a photo of the dreamy sunset on Facebook and you'd think I had taken a National Geographic cover photo from the comments. The sunsets are just that gorgeous, with all the reds and oranges reflecting on the water. While there are many cute B&Bs in this pretty little town, we are so glad we chose to stay in one of the historic homes overlooking the river. The setting is just stunning and the river really is what Natchez is all about. We also loved the hot pot of coffee outside our door each morning, the big porches and sitting rooms for relaxing, and the fact that you can embark on a walk along the river by going out the front door. Oh, and Durel is great about recommending restaurants/activities/houses to tour - even going so far as to make a dinner reservation for you if needed. Would absolutely stay here again. Yes, breakfast at 8:30 is a little early for my personal vacation biorhythms, but it was quite good (and like everything else in Natchez, rich and filling!). Plus, I didn't have to make conversation in my foggy morning state - Durel and his colorful stories took care of that. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toomsuba
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

From the time we steped through the doors we felt at home and Durel said "it's like visiting a family meber you actually like". He was right taliking to him was part of the fun of our trip. Staying with him is like staying at the visitor's center. He can tell you were to go and what is the best and worst. Some improvements need to be made, but if you like the old charm you will love it. The matresses were not so comfortable (im a bed snob) so if you don't mind that you should be good. Small TV, you may stay out looking at all the attractions anyway. Coffee in the morning overlooking the river is wonderful. Durel's breakfast is outstanding, he will serve you on the nice china down to orange juice in wine glasses. You may get to know some other guests, they were also enjoyable too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We enjoyed staying with Durrel. He goes out of his way to make your stay enjoyable, from coffee outside your room in the morning to a bottle of wine in the the evening to enjoy while you watch the sunset. The views from the balcony were wonderful and had some spectacular sunsets!! The breakfast was really good and Durrel really seems to enjoy his guests. The down-side is that the property is getting a bit run down and could really use some renovation and cleaning up to move to compete with the other b&b's. it seems a bit of a mix of "roughing it" and enjoying a b&b stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, AR
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Recently we took a trip to the Gulf and went two hours out of the way to stay at Riverside. Durell is a wealth of information about Natchez and is willing to share. If you just spend the night without listening to his stories you are missing half of the experience of staying there.

The view of the Mississippi River is second to none and the house is full of antiques. The breakfast is a work of art and it is a shame to eat it, but it is just too good to pass up. By the time you leave you will feel like family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Riverside B&B during a recent motorcycle tour of the Natchez Trace Parkway. We could not have been happier with our choice. The location is terriffic (a 10 minute walk to the town center, perched high above the Mississippi) and the house is decorated with a wealth of antiques. Our host, Durell, is an extraordinary Southern Gentleman, filled with wonderful stories of the South and an exceptional cook as well. The Riverside B&B was certainly the highlight of our ten day trip and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Natchez.

Room Tip: Phone messages work best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Address: 211 Clinton Avenue, Natchez, MS 39120
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Natchez
Riverside b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.