We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorial to Remember as olden days go by” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Natchez National Cemetery

Natchez National Cemetery
Natchez, MS
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 32 Attractions in Natchez
Type: Historic Sites, Cemeteries
Attraction Details
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Memorial to Remember as olden days go by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

After reading some of the love stories in here it will bring tears to your eyes! Truly a part of Natchez History. The cemetery itself has many a story to tell. You can also go on a tour here to. Very special place to visit. I want to go back!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jena, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband loves to drive us through there and teach my girls. He tells them why there is a flag on the graves. He loves history. He has taken us to this cemetery many times.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Gibson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It is still very much alive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have a Golden Age Passport (over 65 free to all National Parks) and use it all the time. Sometimes I just wander through the park to unwind. In all my trips, well over 20 in six/seven years, I never see the same thing twice, always discover something knew. This place really makes you stop and think ~ Can you imagine climbing these hills, carrying a 15# rifle in the July heat? I can't! Of course I wanted the CSA to win. Oh well, it is still a place alive with the sounds of gunfire, the smell of gunsmoke, the cries of wounded both Union and Confederate. It is alive with the ghosts of these brave men. Take a lunch, sit under a tree and just listen. You will be transported back into history. Oh, before you leave, go to the book store. The people are incredible, the selection is amazing and the prices are more than reasonable. I do a lot of my Birthday and Christmas shopping there.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, MS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very interesting, unusual cemetery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

To a lot of folks visiting a cemetery is not exactly their idea of "fun." Perfectly understandable, but Natchez National Cemetery is different from most. There are many unusal, ornate tombs with interesting inscriptions. The cemetery helps put into perspective the wide variety of people from all over the world who migrated to this diverse city. We went in the spring and many flowers were in bloom. It was a misty morning and the atmosphere was truly haunting. Several graves are of particular interest. One has a stairway that goes down to the grave so that the deceased child's mother could go down and sit with them during storms. Incredible, and touching, stories abound. Take your camera, there are alot of photo ops. Please remember to be respectful, not climbing on the tombs and such, as each one represents someones loved one.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

O K I'm a historical researcher; however, this is a beautifully kept cemetery with roads through it so you can drive through the huge, historic cemetery. The monuments are magnificent...a tribute to those from another era buried there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natchez National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Natchez National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natchez National Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.