We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved, loved, loved this cemetery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Natchez Cemetery

Historic Natchez Cemetery
Cemetery Road, Natchez, MS
601-445-5051
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Attractions in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Cemeteries, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Kentucky
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loved, loved, loved this cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent about 1/2 hour driving through the very narrow roads in the cemetery admiring the beautiful wrought iron works/enclosures. Just beautiful. We hadn't seen anything like this before. We, unfortunately, didn't have a map or guide of any sort, so we just wandered. But it was still worth the time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    32
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Not too meaningful without a guide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The roads in the cemetery are narrow and the stones and graves seem to go forever as one winds through the labyrinth. I wasn't sure what I was suppose to focus on other than making sure I made the sharp turns without scraping the car. Maybe my heart just wasn't in it, we were rushed for time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Extremely Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were in a group of four and drove through the Natchez cemetery while listening to a CD which explained points of interest. If you like history and enjoy stories of people lives, this is really goos.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you enjoy history you will enjoy a walk here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We enjoyed looking at the beautiful cemetary and the unique headstones and mausaleum. Don't miss the Turning Angel. A sad but touching story goes with it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Fortunately, our hosts for the weekend provided us with a CD for a guided tour of the cemetery. The history and stories shared on the CD brought together all we had seen and learned visiting the mansions about town.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Natchez Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Historic Natchez Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Natchez Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.