We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Masterful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone House Concerts

Stone House Concerts
804 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120
601-897-0315
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 32 attractions in Natchez
Type: Concerts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy sipping complimentary wine while relaxing to music of the Masters, played on a 1903 Steinway grand piano in the Stone House Music Room. Hear this private classical piano performance by a graduate of two prominent American conservatories, along with complimentary wine, followed by a tour of the unique Stone House. Composers generally featured include Schubert, Chopin, Brahms, Gottschalk, Debussy, and Liszt among others. Usual rate is $20 per person. Reservations are necessary.
Brandon, Mississippi, United States
1 review
“Masterful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Even after reading the great reviews, this exceeded my expectations! Started off our evening by attending his amazing concerta. A must do activity if you're visiting!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Fine music presented with thorough descriptions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The room comes alive as you discover that you are surrounded by artifacts and furnishings stemming all the way back to the first occupants of the house. The "era appropriate music" helps those walls talk as the selections are played in house parlor. As Joe points our, instruments like this often were a major source of daily entertainment in the early 19th century. After several musical pieces the focus shifts to the house tour exhibiting pictures and furnishings that cause one to become intimate with the family and local history.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeboone
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We Shall Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We attended the concert when we stayed at the B&B (see our review). We have never followed classical music but Joe's program was something special and we can vouch for all the positive comments from the other reviews. This would be a stop on any trip to Natchez whether you are staying at the Stone House or not. It is well worth the price of admission.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Champagne and Chopin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Piano concert is in the Stone House bed and breakfast. The pianist talks about each piece and the composer prior to and after playing it, which makes the music come alive. Sipping champagne while listening to beautifully played classical music is lovely. A tour of the B and B follows. The home has been in the Stone family for generations and he has many interesting pieces. His family history is amazing. Check out the very special copy of a great southern novel and photo of the author and good friend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The owner is a talented musician and the journey through different music styles was a delight. This was a private concert and we really felt privileged to listen to it in such a wonderful house.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone House Concerts also viewed

 

Been to Stone House Concerts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone House Concerts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stone House Concerts to your Saves list