We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway with Grilfriends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Vale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Vale
29 Learned's Mill Road, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel amenities
Jackson, Tennessee
1 review
“Great getaway with Grilfriends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

What a great place to stay while touring in Natchez. Lovely cottages, well appointed, beautiful scenery. You almost don't want to leave this little piece of heaven by the Mississippi River. I know there are many lovely places to stay while visiting in Natchez, but this was the best choice for us. Both the cottages were well stocked with anything you might need as well as clean and well appointed interiors.
Barbara, who operates Magnolia Vale, was most helpful in planning our stay, friendly and very knowledgable about the area as well. I would highly recommend staying there and I plan to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our "Getaway" to Natchez, MS was fabulous due in great part to our accommodations at Magnolia Vale. The grounds, right on the Mighty Mississippi, are immaculately kept, lush and beautiful. Both cottages are pristine, well appointed, and stocked with all the amenities of a five star hotel. They are very generous with breakfasts at local restaurants which gives visitors the ambiance and flavor of Natchez. Barbara, who operates Magnolia Vale, is certainly knowledgeable about the area, extremely helpful with arrangements, accommodating and just one of the nicest people you could know.
I highly recommend "The Vale" to anyone who stays in Natchez. I will stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you are into peaceful beautiful scenery and having some alone time with your significant other this is the place for you. My wife and I went here on our one year anniversary and it was so perfect for us. The cottage itself is well maintained and decorated. Every morning and evening we sat on the back screened in porch and had a beautiful view of the Mississippi River. Barbara was so sweet and hospitable. The food and snacks were well stocked and there was even a bottle of wine there for us to enjoy. And downtown Natchez was just a short walk away. We got all the amazing experiences and food of Natchez and then got to go back to our peaceful haven every night. Thank you so much Barbara for a great experience, we will be back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

OMG!!! What a wonderful, lovely, fabulous & memorable five days in Natchez, MS!! From our morning coffee in the sunroom watching the "Mighty Mississip" float by, to the amazingly well-stocked breakfast items in the Gatekeeper's Cottage, moving on to the VERY friendly locals in Natchez, followed by the reasonable prices @ the restaurants we visited (Sunday Brunch @ Gatekeeper's @ Stanton Hall, brkfst @ "the Castle" @ Dunleith, lunch @ Magnolia Grill, etc.); wine @ sunset bk @ Magnolia Vale by the firepit & lastly, fab homemade dinners in the well-equipped kitchen...just call me one VERY satisfied tourist. I hesitate to share this -- what a sweet, peaceful place -- please don't EVER lose the quaintness/tranquility of such a magical environment.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McComb, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our second trip to Magnolia Vale, Gate Keepers Cottage. Another absolutely wonderful experience. It's a getaway to a 5 star hotel, but you don't have to deal with "people". Fantastic relaxing, romantic weekend and great place just to reconnect with that one dearest to your heart. Beautiful view overlooking the river, quiet and remote. Barbara is a wonderful hostess. We will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I'm not a big fan of bed-and-breakfast, I always find them a little too stuffy or little too homey. Magnolia Vale broke that mold, with an incredibly comfortable room with pleasant amenities the likes of a 4 star hotel.

I'm so glad we chose to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bickley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed at many different hotels and B&Bs both with my family and on business, but I must say that this ranks as one of my best stays ever. We took both cottages. Gatekeepers was recently remodelled and gorgeous, and Pigeonnairre was located close to the main house next to the pool. Whilst a cooked breakfast is not provided, the fridges are fully stocked with all manner of goodies and we were also given the option to take breakfast (complementary) at a restaurant within a lovely plantation close by.

The grounds of Magnolia Vale are perfectly manicured and overlook the Mighty Mississippi. My daughters (aged 17 and 19) loved the fact that they could stay in a separate cottage, and they thoroughly enjoyed the company of the 2 dogs that live in the main house.

Barbara, who runs the accommodation proved to the hostess with the mostest. She was helpful without being intrusive, and she could not have been more helpful.

We spent 2 weeks in The Deep South of the USA on a road trip, and stayed in some great places, but Magnolia Vale was by far and away the best. Do yourself a favour and stay here...you deserve it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnolia Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Vale

Address: 29 Learned's Mill Road, Natchez, MS 39120
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Natchez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Vale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Magnolia Vale to your Saves list