We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEYOND my expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Vale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Magnolia Vale
Save Saved
You added Magnolia Vale to your Saves list
29 Learned's Mill Road, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel amenities
College Station, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEYOND my expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My only hesitation writing this glowing review, is now everyone will be booking it, and I MUST come back! We stayed two nights in this perfect little cottage. First, we enjoyed the final day of the Balloon Festival, with great views. Our second night took us to dinner on the river. It was a wonderful location, the hospitality was over-the-top helpful and accommodating. I highly recommend this property for either a family of four, or a couple's retreat. If you're lucky, you'll enjoy a morning rain on the side porch, while drinking your first cup of coffee... Happy Travels!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the pull-out couch for our kids, while keeping the king-sized bed for ourselves! The kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lillian, Alabama
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 3 nights in the Gatekeepers's cottage at beautiful Magnolia Vale. If you are looking for a quiet, secluded, and private location in which to base yourself for visiting the Natchez area, you can not get better than this.The cottage had everything we needed and more. Barbara was most helpful in providing information and any necessities we wanted to make our stay enjoyable. The location on the river provided wonderful views and it was close enough to town to walk. OK, there is one steep hill, but the excercise let's you eat more of all the wonderful food found in Natchez! I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a quiet romantic getaway spot.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Magnolia Vale exceeded our expectations ~ we thought it would be nice, but it was fabulous! We stayed in the gatekeeper's cottage which was absolutely beautiful ~ lovely decor and gorgeous furnishings and linens. The owners really made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. They provided delicious treats, homemade cookies and fresh flowers which was wonderful. The grounds of the main house are beautiful and the pool was just great! It really was truly peaceful and relaxing, but then close to downtown Natchez where there are some great places to eat. Would definitely recommend here and hope to be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Spectacular Antebellum home nestled up to the mighty Mississippi River. We stayed 2 nights at The Pigeonnaire, a spacious, luxurious and private cottage near the pool and cabana (behind the main house). It was too cold in March to use the pool during our stay. Our room was beautifully decorated and filled with all amenities including comfy bath robes, hair dryer, plentiful tasty snacks, and beverages AND fresh flowers beside the bed!. The immaculate grounds are filled with gorgeous flowers during Pilgrimage ( and I'm sure throughout the year!). You must sit on 'the hill' and watch the tug boats pass by on the river... so relaxing! Cozy up to the fire pit on the cool days or nights while sipping wine and watching riverboats and barges ply the Mighty Mississippi-we so enjoyed it! The bed was super comfy and there is free internet, plenty of parking. The innkeeper, Barbara, was most helpful advising us on things to do in Natchez. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

If you want a very unique Southern experience.... stay at Magnolia-Vale. It is so close to the Mississippi River you can hear and see the river boats. Definitely a private get-away... yet close to downtown. Very upscale decor and accommodations....and friendly management! Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

The Gatekeeper's Cottage was a wonderful retreat - cozy and charming with an amazing view and a terrific location. We were within walking distance of downtown Natchez with the restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing and yet, it was quiet with a beautiful view of the Mississippi River. The cottage had all the amenities we could want - the bed was sooo comfortable, the bath and kitchen spaces were great. The staff provided delicious treats and breakfast items. We'd like to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Vale

Address: 29 Learned's Mill Road, Natchez, MS 39120
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Natchez
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Vale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.