We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Suprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VUE Hotel and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added VUE Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
VUE Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 John R. Junkin Drive, Natchez, MS 39120-3820 (Formerly Grand Soleil Casino Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Lovely Suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were on a 4000mile trip from Canada to Texas and through Florida to South Carolina and back. Most of the time our accommodations were in Hotels.
I had booked the Vue hotel in Natchez because it said it overlooked the river and that sounded nice. What a surprise we were in for.
As we walked into the foyer of the Vue one would have thought one was entering a very grand home or a very up market hotel. It was beautiful, different seating areas where one could have a conversation in privacy. The decor was gorgeous with bright colours melding with each creating a feeling of peace but also uplifting.
The reception desk did not take up the entire side of the lobby but was discreetly placed in a corner with plenty of room for guests but without taking away from the beauty of the lobby. We found out that we were a day late!! The manager happened to be there at the desk and said "not a problem" and even upgraded us to a suite!
Our room was lovely, comfortable and modern. The suite overlooked the Mississippi river and the bridge to Louisiana. After we had freshened up we went to the dining room for dinner and again we pleasantly surprised by the quality and choice of the food on the menu. We had a delicious dinner and returned to our room. We were both very tired and were glad of a king bed with very comfy mattress. We slept in the next morning and as we did not have a long trip that day took advantage of the noon checkout and stayed until the last possible minute.
I do not think we have stayed in such a nice hotel for the price in a long time.
Well done Vue Hotel. We would recommend you anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for Riverview Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    12
    6
    10
See reviews for
24
40
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I visited Natchez for the weekend and stayed at the Vue hotel. The hotel itself sits on a high bluff overlooking the Mississippi river and bridge. The hotel itself is clean, the staff is friendly, and the rooms are fairly well appointed. The beds were comfortable, and it is also quiet. The only thing preventing me from giving the hotel an excellent rating is the complimentary breakfast that is offered each morning. It is a "plated" affair, which means that each morning you go in to the dining room and seat yourself and the server automatically goes to the back and brings the breakfast to your table which consists of scrambled eggs, grits, one sausage link, one bacon strip, and toast. He does not come to your table first and there are no changes, choices, or substitutions, so if you are like me and cannot eat eggs, you don't have much of a breakfast. We stayed here for 3 days and breakfast was the same everyday. Overall, the hotel is nice for the price and in a good location central to the attractions of Natchez.

Room Tip: When making reservations, ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Upgraded our normal room reservation to a suite before we arrived. Breakfast is a set plate of scrambled eggs, grits, bacon and a biscuit which got old fast. Good location overlooking the Mississippi River not far from downtown Natchez.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, WI
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Last minute reservations can sometimes not meet your expectations but this time we hit the jackpot. Beautiful view from our beautiful room. Great, waitperson served, breakfast in the morning. We couldn't have done better if we tried.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel has been completely renovated since it was a Ramada. The name was changed to "Vue" from "Grand Soleil" to avoid confusion with the new "Grand" downtown, and "Vue" calls attention to the best river view of any hotel in Natchez. The room we had was clean, spacious, and comfortable, with fridge, microwave, coffeepot, iron and board. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast, served in the restaurant, was a choice of several tasty dishes, included in the room rate, which was fairly low.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have the great river views; I think they are rented first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Grand Soliel Natchez (new name: Vue Hotel) was wonderful. It is located atop a bluff overlooking the Mississippi River. The room was spacious, clean and bright with a fabulous view of the Mississippi River. A microwave and refrigerator are included in most rooms. The staff was very friendly. We had dinner and breakfast there,the food was excellent both times. The staff
couldn't have been nicer, keeping everything filled for the hungry crowd. We would recommend
this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Higher floors have excellent view of the Mississippi and the windows had screens on them so you coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Upon arriving we were greeted by a very unpleasant Front desk lady. I asked for a luggage carrier (bell hop cart) and was told, "We got one but you have to find it if you wanna use it"! After we got situated in our room i noticed there was not enough towels or any shower caps. I called down to the front desk only to be told that the towels would take two hours to get to my room & that they don't provide guest with shower caps.

I must say the Location was Great!! The rooms were average in size & comfort. The TV's were old and outdated "hump back" tube screens. The pool was clean but a bit small for a hotel of this size. The continental breakfast was egg omelet, biscuits, oatmeal. bacon, ham & turkey.

In my opinion, the price was not a value because the quality of service from housekeeping and the front desk was very poor. To some it all up i would not stay here again..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to VUE Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VUE Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 130 John R. Junkin Drive, Natchez, MS 39120-3820 (Formerly Grand Soleil Casino Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — VUE Hotel and Restaurant 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and Restaurant are located on the bluff overlooking the mighty Mississippi River.On-site lounge/Restaurant, outdoor pool and daily complimentary hot breakfast are offered for our guest's convenience. The shops and Antebellum homes of historic Central Natchez are one mile from the property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your VUE Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Soleil Hotel Natchez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VUE Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;