We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Room...Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN River Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN River Inn
10 Grand Soleil Boulevard, Natchez, MS 39120-3836   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Natchez
North Carolina
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Basic Room...Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Chose to stay here next to river rather than Hampton across road as it was $20 cheaper yet still cost over $100. Not many choices in Natchez so it works but it is just a basic room with a bed and small fridge. The good thing was that it was clean, bathrooms were clean too. This room would probably be about 59 or 69 in a town with more choices. We were just passing thru town so it wasn't terrible for a place to sleep but I would not want to stay here for several days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
40
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Central Louisiana
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Spent several days in Natchez and this inn was very nice and clean. Staff was attentive and professional. Everything worked as it should. Continental breakfast was clean and nice layout, but no frills or extras as others have done.

Room Tip: There are several rooms that have a view of the river. Interesting to see the lighted Mississippi Ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in that Best Western in December of 2009 (couldn't choose earlier than 2011 in title!!!) on our way to New Orleans. At that time, I was in the early stage of my 3rd pregnancy, tired, in a bad mood, sick, etc. I was not sure about staying there at first but when we entered the room, I felt releived : it was clean, quiet (even though we were located near the highway!!) and the bed was very comfy, I was able to sleep soundly, wich was a plus at that time!! We had a communicating room as we wanted some extra space for the kids. So we were very happy with the rooms, cleaniless of the place and friendliness of the staff. The only "not so good" thing : breakfast was too little. But at that time we paid $89 for a night, so you can't really expect a gourmet breakfast!!! At least it was there and free... I would more than likely stay there again if we go through Natchez!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice view of the river. Small but refreshing pool. Decent breakfast. Clean room. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: We could see the river and bridge from our room. Made for a nice sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We opted for a chain hotel rather than one of the much more expensive houses you can stay at - as they all had such mixed reviews on here it didn't seem worth the extra money.

Don't be fooled by stories of Natchez being a tourist destination - it is, and it's beautiful and absolutely a must-visit, but it's also very very quiet! You may find yourself walking the downtown historic district and feeling like you're the only visitor in town!!

Our room was just okay. It was fine, I was just disappointed that it was fairly dark and had a small window and no way to sit and 'look out' at the sunshine. We tried to change rooms but were told they were all the same - seems odd as other people have said they got views over the mississippi. So it was good value and a great location for visiting all the sites, but the actual room was just a bit disappointing. It did have a small fridge though which was great - we bought food at the local Walmart and this helped save some money (especially as Natchez really seems to be lacking places to eat!).

We did visit the famous 'Malt Shop' - a roadside drive up with great milkshakes and sweet tea. We also fell in love with the local Sonic (we are from London so this was a complete novelty to us!).

The best thing about the hotel was that from the car park, you could see the Mississippi river and the massive bridge across it. I've uploaded a photo of what it looked like at night. The shame was the claim that there weren't any rooms with a river view, which I find hard to believe.

Overall, fairly 'average' but still a great stay.

We visited Longwood, Stanton and Roalie houses - all great. And had dinner twice at The Castle at Dunleith - gorgeous and we'd probably try to stay there next time.

Room Tip: Try and get a river view, if in fact they do exist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed one night - was not impressed at all. Room could have used a deep cleaning - the overall appearance looked clean but as other reviewers said nothing was moved or little effort done with cleaning. There were cobwebs from the higher fixtures also from the sprinkler from the ceiling. The bathtub actually had the pink mold around some of the caulking. That in itself could have easily been bleached and scrubbed. There was dust on the dresser and desk. When we got in the room there was no a/c on and very hot in there. We noticed that there was no a/c in the hall and it was very hot out there. Asked one of the housekeepers in the morning and the reply was they don't know but they leave room doors open to get some air. Inquired at the desk when I checked out and was told oh no they should be on someone must have shut them off. Basically save money by not putting air on in the halls or before someone checks in.
The room itself was a decent size and we had a view of the bridge which looked nice at night. The breakfast in the morning was average usual cereal, packaged pastries, waffle maker, juice, etc. I didn't have anything but the coffee. Tiny sitting area for people who wanted to eat.
For the price of $100 which was way overpriced for this hotel I did not find anything that would say I would come back again. You would probably be better off looking elsewhere for your accommodations. The town itself was really pretty to drive through and look at all the mansions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forrest, mississippi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

everything was fine until appr 430am, felt movement on my face, then in my hair, after falling back asleep, woke again after 10 to 15 min, felt somthing in hair again and crawling in my arm, went into bathroom with light as to not wake up spouse, brushed hair over sink and had ants fall out, woke up spouse, lights on... had( thousands) of ants coming through wall socket and climbing up our bed to my pillow.... notified fromt desk, manager on duty came up, turned mattress, pulled all blankets of bed, put in a pile on floor, we then told him we would check out and would like a refund for room..............He called owner of hotel---- would only give us back half of our room charge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western River Hotel
Best Western River Hotel Natchez
Address: 10 Grand Soleil Boulevard, Natchez, MS 39120-3836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.