We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay...nice staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN River Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN River Inn
10 Grand Soleil Boulevard, Natchez, MS 39120-3836   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Cleburne, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay...nice staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice view of the river. Small but refreshing pool. Decent breakfast. Clean room. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: We could see the river and bridge from our room. Made for a nice sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    58
    35
    8
    6
See reviews for
36
59
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We opted for a chain hotel rather than one of the much more expensive houses you can stay at - as they all had such mixed reviews on here it didn't seem worth the extra money.

Don't be fooled by stories of Natchez being a tourist destination - it is, and it's beautiful and absolutely a must-visit, but it's also very very quiet! You may find yourself walking the downtown historic district and feeling like you're the only visitor in town!!

Our room was just okay. It was fine, I was just disappointed that it was fairly dark and had a small window and no way to sit and 'look out' at the sunshine. We tried to change rooms but were told they were all the same - seems odd as other people have said they got views over the mississippi. So it was good value and a great location for visiting all the sites, but the actual room was just a bit disappointing. It did have a small fridge though which was great - we bought food at the local Walmart and this helped save some money (especially as Natchez really seems to be lacking places to eat!).

We did visit the famous 'Malt Shop' - a roadside drive up with great milkshakes and sweet tea. We also fell in love with the local Sonic (we are from London so this was a complete novelty to us!).

The best thing about the hotel was that from the car park, you could see the Mississippi river and the massive bridge across it. I've uploaded a photo of what it looked like at night. The shame was the claim that there weren't any rooms with a river view, which I find hard to believe.

Overall, fairly 'average' but still a great stay.

We visited Longwood, Stanton and Roalie houses - all great. And had dinner twice at The Castle at Dunleith - gorgeous and we'd probably try to stay there next time.

Room Tip: Try and get a river view, if in fact they do exist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed one night - was not impressed at all. Room could have used a deep cleaning - the overall appearance looked clean but as other reviewers said nothing was moved or little effort done with cleaning. There were cobwebs from the higher fixtures also from the sprinkler from the ceiling. The bathtub actually had the pink mold around some of the caulking. That in itself could have easily been bleached and scrubbed. There was dust on the dresser and desk. When we got in the room there was no a/c on and very hot in there. We noticed that there was no a/c in the hall and it was very hot out there. Asked one of the housekeepers in the morning and the reply was they don't know but they leave room doors open to get some air. Inquired at the desk when I checked out and was told oh no they should be on someone must have shut them off. Basically save money by not putting air on in the halls or before someone checks in.
The room itself was a decent size and we had a view of the bridge which looked nice at night. The breakfast in the morning was average usual cereal, packaged pastries, waffle maker, juice, etc. I didn't have anything but the coffee. Tiny sitting area for people who wanted to eat.
For the price of $100 which was way overpriced for this hotel I did not find anything that would say I would come back again. You would probably be better off looking elsewhere for your accommodations. The town itself was really pretty to drive through and look at all the mansions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forrest, mississippi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

everything was fine until appr 430am, felt movement on my face, then in my hair, after falling back asleep, woke again after 10 to 15 min, felt somthing in hair again and crawling in my arm, went into bathroom with light as to not wake up spouse, brushed hair over sink and had ants fall out, woke up spouse, lights on... had( thousands) of ants coming through wall socket and climbing up our bed to my pillow.... notified fromt desk, manager on duty came up, turned mattress, pulled all blankets of bed, put in a pile on floor, we then told him we would check out and would like a refund for room..............He called owner of hotel---- would only give us back half of our room charge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Nice hotel, clean and the staff were welcoming. Get a second floor odd numbered room and you get a great view of the Mississippi,

Room Tip: Choose an odd numbered second floor room and get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian Rockies, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Overall, the hotel is decent and that's about it. It wasn't as clean as you would expect for $100, but not too bad. The only things we noticed were some stray hairs in the bathroom tub, embedded in a washcloth, and some light stains on the towels. Other than that, it was a clean room and the room (a king) was fairly spacious. The AC in the room made a racket until it ran for about 10 minutes, then it quieted down to normal. The bed was comfy enough for a Best Western and the TV was easy to use.

The breakfast could use some additions. The eating area isn't very large, and the counter space for getting food was pretty small, so try to go down early. 1 waffle maker, cereal, pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee, and from-concentrate juices are the extent of the variety. We stayed at a BW in Vicksburg that had eggs and biscuits and gravy, so we were a little disappointed in this one's offereings. But the food was good.

The higher price is no doubt driven by the casinos close by. But with a lack of chain hotels in Natchez, this one is acceptable, but in terms of hotels in general you will be overpaying for what you get.

Room Tip: Upper story rooms on the west (back side) of the building will offer a good view of the huge bridges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Got here late on a Saturday night and checked out Sunday morning before we visited downtown Natchez. This is a newer hotel. Free breakfast in the morning was about average, not many places to sit. Decent enough experience, so would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River Inn

Address: 10 Grand Soleil Boulevard, Natchez, MS 39120-3836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western River Hotel Natchez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.