We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Scarlet O'Hara Girlfriends Gettaway!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elms Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added The Elms Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Tingo.com
and 3 more sites!
The Elms Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   801 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 Natchez B&B and Inns
Wadley, Alabama
1 review
“Great Scarlet O'Hara Girlfriends Gettaway!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

The Elms is a lovely home with lots of history. Esther and Adele are wonderful hostesses. We felt like we were staying in our grandmother's house. Breakfast was unbelievably good. If you want to stay in a bed and breakfast that is both beautiful and comfortable chose The Elms!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

My sister and I went to Natchez for a Girlfriend's Getaway and stayed at The Elms. The owner/hostess was so hospitable and made us feel very welcome. The home itself is showing signs of age, but this only added to its charm and made us feel like we were truly living in the wonderful history of the home and the city, as everything we needed (wireless internet, flat screen TV, marble shower, spa towels & robes) was top notch. The location is great - walking distance to the downtown area overlooking the Mississippi River but enough away that you had peace & quiet. We also got an incredible value using one of their 2 night packages which included tours of several homes and a very cool ghost tour. I highly recommend The Elms, and specifically the Drake Room (the one we had).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lavaca, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We have just returned home from our stay in Natchez and The Elms. We have stayed in a number of B&B's in the past and this one exceeds all the others by far. From the moment we arrived we were treated to the gracious hospitality the South is famous for. The owner, Esther and her staff made us feel right at home. The home has been in Esther's family for many, many years and include numerous pieces of family heirlooms that you will never see in other restored homes. The tour we were given of the home was a highlight of our stay in Natchez. Esther has a wealth of knowledge of not only her family history but that of Natchez as well.

Our room was spacious and very clean. Furnished with a four-poster king size bed and well-appointed furnishings of the period. The bathroom has been recently updated and includes a beautiful claw foot tub and modern fixtures and walk-in shower. The modernization of the home has been done in such a way as to keep the historical intergrity of the home. Esther has accomplished this task with flying colors. The property surrounding the home is just beautiful and lends itself to quiet walks or finding a nice shade tree to sit beneath and read or to jusr soak up the sites and smells of Natchez and let your mind wonder back to a time gone by.

The breakfasts we were treated to were nothing less than AMAZING!!! Each morning we looked forward to going downsatairs to discover what treats Esther had in store for us. Each morning the menu was different and we were never disappointed. The pancakes, grtis, muffins, eggs, and fruit salads were a just absolutely scrumptuous. The breakfast alone is reason enough to stay at The Elms, but the home itself is absolutely gorgeous and the owner, Esther and her wonderful staff make you feel like you are family.

The attention to detail that is given by the folks at The Elms is refreshing to say the least from the luxurious towels in the bath, to each evening upon our return we would find wonderful soft music playing on the flat-screen TV , our bed turned down for us and a wonderful pitcher of ice water by our bedside and a delightful chocolate treat waiting for us. They have thought of everything, and yes I agree with the previous writer who believes Esther irons the sheets, they are always immaculate, just pefect.

We are telling everyone we know if they are ever in Natchez and want to be spoiled beyond belief to not miss out on this jewel of the South. It is poitively wonderful. We will stay there again and she may never get us to leave.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

What a wonderful experience. We have just returned from a family retreat from our beloved Natchez, where we had the delightful opportunity to spend 3 nights at this rather quaint B&B. Have stayed at several throughout the Natchez area, and have found this one to be our favorite. Esther is the perfect hostess. We were welcomed with a glass of complimentary wine followed each morning with the most delicious southern breakfast each morning. The rooms are rustically charming and clean, with spacious and updated bath, plush towels, and incredibly soft bed linens. Each evening we returned to find our beds turned down and a sumptuous treat awaiting us. The location is excellent, and within walking distance of many of the historic sites which draw us to the area. We had such an incredible experience, that we plan to return soon with our daughters for cooking classes where we hope to glean some of Esther's culinary secrets. (Her grits and pancakes are to die for)

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Lovely B&B with loads of history! It was a very romantic and cozy atmosphere with delicious breakfast and the cleanest room I have ever stayed in. (I think Ester starches the sheets!) I would definitely recommend the Elms to couples who need a relaxing getaway! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

The Elms is wonderful. Yes, the bed was squeaky, as noted above, but there is another bedroom in that suite with two separate beds so don't know why they didn't move. I did, and it was fine.

Esther is a lovely person and brought me wine after I arrived & then invited us down for a late night cup of soup that was the best thing I've ever tasted.

Breakfasts there are magnificent -- you barely need to eat the rest of the day.

I sat on the porch with coffee each morning and luxuriated in the sights and smells of Natchez. The flowers are so fragrant this time of year. When I had to finally leave the Elms and Natchez, I was so sad.

You must stay here if you have the chance, squeaky bed or not. :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, VA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

I found The Elms quite by accident when the B&B where I had reservations suffered a water pipe burst and recommended The Elms as an alternative. The house is delightfully eccentric, having grown out of a six room, two and a half story 1804 townhouse. The back porches were enclosed, new porches added, and then another building added and connected to the original house by enclosing the connecting porches. This gives the house a wonderfully comfortable feel so unlike houses with regular, formal architecture. Also unlike most houses in the downtown area of Natchez, it has a large front yard that gives it an air of privacy and old world charm. My room, the Kellogg, was the original second floor parlor in the 1804 house. The baths have all been completely redone with all new fixtures and an eye to luxury, down to the thick towels. I had a very spacious shower and separate claw foot soaking tub. Aside from the new bath (and all the baths are new, as I saw on the house tour), everything else is furnished in antiques. I found everything spotlessly clean, far better than I find in even new hotels. Ms Esther, the current and fifth generation to own The Elms, is an artist in her own right, interesting conversationalist, and has a good eye for detail. It isn't often one finds a trained, experienced butler these days, but William is the real thing. They served me a hot breakfast both mornings, consisting of eggs, grits, bacon, fruit, and biscuits (I watched Ms Esther roll and cut the biscuits the first morning). The Elms is a new B&B, having just opened in February 2009, and is still a work in progress. With all new baths, wiring, and HVAC, the guest rooms are in good order while work continues on the exterior. I'm told some have seen the exterior in its partially restored state and gone elsewhere, which is really their loss as Ms Esther is a great hostess and the guest rooms ready for even the most discriminating guest.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Elms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Bed and Breakfast

Address: 801 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elms is an authentic antebellum mansion bed & breakfast in downtown Natchez. Managed by a 5th generation owner, the style is personal and luxurious. One feels more like an invitee than a guest. A Southern breakfast is served in the family dining room on antique china and silverware. Located in a park-like setting and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Elms Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elms Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.