We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elms Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Elms Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Elms Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   801 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 36 Natchez B&B and Inns
Schaumburg, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I highly recommend the Elms B&B in Natchez MS. A lovely historic home with lots of character and beautiful touches. The home has been restored, and many of the pieces of furniture and accessories are original to the home. The owner, Esther, is a chef, and the breakfasts were fantastic. We really enjoyed relaxing on our private porch with a glass of wine in the afternoons after touring some historic Natchez homes during the day. Our visit was made even more enjoyable by the presence of Lucy and Gumbo, Esther's two (extremely well behaved) little poodles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed one night in this B&B and enjoyed it tremendously. The room we stayed in was rather grand and sleeps 5. It was extremely comfortable. We had access to the balcony where we could sit on rocking chairs enjoying the quiet evening. It's location allowed us to explore Natchez and the Mississippi river. It's not a big town, and everything was within walking distance. The walk through the neighbourhood was also wonderful with many big houses to admire. We were told the host was a wonderful cook, and were treated to a fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We arrived to a beautifully decorated house in true southern grandeur ! Our host was most accommodating and is pleasant and friendly. We could not have asked for a better place to spend two days ! From the period decorated rooms to the home cooked country style breakfast everything was wonderful! Ester and her staff were a fantastic ! We would definitely book here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Amazing to stay in such a beautiful and historic home - we had a huge room and a wonderful second floor balcony to relax on. The house has been restored with much of the original furniture and ornaments still in use - there is a guide to each main room explaining everything. The breakfast was excellent with everything home-cooked by Esther. The Elms is in a great location - the Mississippi River and shops and restaurants are a short walk down Washington St. But it's great service that counts and Esther happily posted some shirts I had left in the closet - without complaint and refusing payment. There's lots to see in Natchez - stay at The Elms

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed for two evenings at the Elms and we were slightly disappointed with it. We reserved the room that we specifically wanted but when we got there they put us in a different room. This room did not have the view we wanted or a sitting area on the balcony. It was also much smaller. We were expecting these fantastic breakfast from the other reviews that we read but the breakfast was average at best. We have stayed in may B and B's over the years and this meal was definitely at the bottom of the list. Nothing that I couldn't make myself at home. We also never had anything offered to us when we arrived and there was no turn down service in the evening. The location of the house was good and the house itself is very beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hometown, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This property is a classic and certainly has some charm. However, we happened to stay here during Pilgrimage week and our hostess was due to give tours, so we did not have the opportunity to experience the breakfast here.

Also, there was a dinner hosted that evening in the home for a private party, so we were unable to be down in the common area / living room. Not because our hostess wouldn't permit it, but because we just didn't want to intrude on a private gathering. The party was a bit loud at times, but it did wrap up at a decent time (10:00 p.m. or so).

We stayed in the Kellogg Room. We both noted in the morning that the mattress dipped a bit in the middle and we didn't have good back support. Also, you will want to know that the shower (though nice) does not have anything on the bottom that protects you from slipping. I found it slippery at times. It does have a built-in bench, though.

Something you definitely want to know is that the Kellogg bedroom (I don't know about the others) cannot be locked upon leaving. It can only be locked from the inside. So if you plan to leave items in your room, you will need to be aware of this.

The hostess was warm and cordial. Overall, though, I was a bit disappointed due to not being able to have breakfast there and the private party the evening we were there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Rather stay in another motel, we treated ourselves to something different. This fine old home has three guest rooms, as we were three couples , we booked the house. The home is about 205 years old, and a fine example of buildings in the area. It has been tastefully and honestly restored to it's glory days. Our needs were well looked after and breakfast in the dining room, in grand old style, was a real treat! A good location, easy walk to cafes , bars , shops etc. The folks running it provided us with good clues on where to visit and eat, told us to drop their name, and on a couple of occasions, we saw them eating and drinking at the same places. Nice to get honest recommendations. I f you are looking to experience a bit of history and atmosphere look these guys up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Bed and Breakfast

Address: 801 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elms is an authentic antebellum mansion bed & breakfast in downtown Natchez. Managed by a 5th generation owner, the style is personal and luxurious. One feels more like an invitee than a guest. A Southern breakfast is served in the family dining room on antique china and silverware. Located in a park-like setting and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Elms Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elms Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.