We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in antebellum house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elms Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Elms Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Elms Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   801 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 40 Natchez B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in antebellum house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed one night in this B&B and enjoyed it tremendously. The room we stayed in was rather grand and sleeps 5. It was extremely comfortable. We had access to the balcony where we could sit on rocking chairs enjoying the quiet evening. It's location allowed us to explore Natchez and the Mississippi river. It's not a big town, and everything was within walking distance. The walk through the neighbourhood was also wonderful with many big houses to admire. We were told the host was a wonderful cook, and were treated to a fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We arrived to a beautifully decorated house in true southern grandeur ! Our host was most accommodating and is pleasant and friendly. We could not have asked for a better place to spend two days ! From the period decorated rooms to the home cooked country style breakfast everything was wonderful! Ester and her staff were a fantastic ! We would definitely book here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peshwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Amazing to stay in such a beautiful and historic home - we had a huge room and a wonderful second floor balcony to relax on. The house has been restored with much of the original furniture and ornaments still in use - there is a guide to each main room explaining everything. The breakfast was excellent with everything home-cooked by Esther. The Elms is in a great location - the Mississippi River and shops and restaurants are a short walk down Washington St. But it's great service that counts and Esther happily posted some shirts I had left in the closet - without complaint and refusing payment. There's lots to see in Natchez - stay at The Elms

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed for two evenings at the Elms and we were slightly disappointed with it. We reserved the room that we specifically wanted but when we got there they put us in a different room. This room did not have the view we wanted or a sitting area on the balcony. It was also much smaller. We were expecting these fantastic breakfast from the other reviews that we read but the breakfast was average at best. We have stayed in may B and B's over the years and this meal was definitely at the bottom of the list. Nothing that I couldn't make myself at home. We also never had anything offered to us when we arrived and there was no turn down service in the evening. The location of the house was good and the house itself is very beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyjim83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hometown, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This property is a classic and certainly has some charm. However, we happened to stay here during Pilgrimage week and our hostess was due to give tours, so we did not have the opportunity to experience the breakfast here.

Also, there was a dinner hosted that evening in the home for a private party, so we were unable to be down in the common area / living room. Not because our hostess wouldn't permit it, but because we just didn't want to intrude on a private gathering. The party was a bit loud at times, but it did wrap up at a decent time (10:00 p.m. or so).

We stayed in the Kellogg Room. We both noted in the morning that the mattress dipped a bit in the middle and we didn't have good back support. Also, you will want to know that the shower (though nice) does not have anything on the bottom that protects you from slipping. I found it slippery at times. It does have a built-in bench, though.

Something you definitely want to know is that the Kellogg bedroom (I don't know about the others) cannot be locked upon leaving. It can only be locked from the inside. So if you plan to leave items in your room, you will need to be aware of this.

The hostess was warm and cordial. Overall, though, I was a bit disappointed due to not being able to have breakfast there and the private party the evening we were there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I_travel_alot_115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Rather stay in another motel, we treated ourselves to something different. This fine old home has three guest rooms, as we were three couples , we booked the house. The home is about 205 years old, and a fine example of buildings in the area. It has been tastefully and honestly restored to it's glory days. Our needs were well looked after and breakfast in the dining room, in grand old style, was a real treat! A good location, easy walk to cafes , bars , shops etc. The folks running it provided us with good clues on where to visit and eat, told us to drop their name, and on a couple of occasions, we saw them eating and drinking at the same places. Nice to get honest recommendations. I f you are looking to experience a bit of history and atmosphere look these guys up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.louis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Elms, what a wonderful experience. Esther is a fabulous chef and the breakfasts were outstanding. The grounds are so pretty and the home is just beautiful. Lots of nooks and crannies to explore. The room and bathroom were so pretty, we both loved it and didn't want to leave! I would highly recommend the Elms. We would love to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.4 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#1 of 16 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#6 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B
0.7 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#5 of 40 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Starling's Rest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Bed and Breakfast

Address: 801 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elms is an authentic antebellum mansion bed & breakfast in downtown Natchez. Managed by a 5th generation owner, the style is personal and luxurious. One feels more like an invitee than a guest. A Southern breakfast is served in the family dining room on antique china and silverware. Located in a park-like setting and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Elms Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing