We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a typical experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Elms Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added The Elms Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Elms Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   801 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Natchez B&B and Inns
hometown, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a typical experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This property is a classic and certainly has some charm. However, we happened to stay here during Pilgrimage week and our hostess was due to give tours, so we did not have the opportunity to experience the breakfast here.

Also, there was a dinner hosted that evening in the home for a private party, so we were unable to be down in the common area / living room. Not because our hostess wouldn't permit it, but because we just didn't want to intrude on a private gathering. The party was a bit loud at times, but it did wrap up at a decent time (10:00 p.m. or so).

We stayed in the Kellogg Room. We both noted in the morning that the mattress dipped a bit in the middle and we didn't have good back support. Also, you will want to know that the shower (though nice) does not have anything on the bottom that protects you from slipping. I found it slippery at times. It does have a built-in bench, though.

Something you definitely want to know is that the Kellogg bedroom (I don't know about the others) cannot be locked upon leaving. It can only be locked from the inside. So if you plan to leave items in your room, you will need to be aware of this.

The hostess was warm and cordial. Overall, though, I was a bit disappointed due to not being able to have breakfast there and the private party the evening we were there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Rather stay in another motel, we treated ourselves to something different. This fine old home has three guest rooms, as we were three couples , we booked the house. The home is about 205 years old, and a fine example of buildings in the area. It has been tastefully and honestly restored to it's glory days. Our needs were well looked after and breakfast in the dining room, in grand old style, was a real treat! A good location, easy walk to cafes , bars , shops etc. The folks running it provided us with good clues on where to visit and eat, told us to drop their name, and on a couple of occasions, we saw them eating and drinking at the same places. Nice to get honest recommendations. I f you are looking to experience a bit of history and atmosphere look these guys up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.louis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Elms, what a wonderful experience. Esther is a fabulous chef and the breakfasts were outstanding. The grounds are so pretty and the home is just beautiful. Lots of nooks and crannies to explore. The room and bathroom were so pretty, we both loved it and didn't want to leave! I would highly recommend the Elms. We would love to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

My sister and I stayed for two nights at The Elms in the Drake Room. I wanted to stay in that room since the walls were hand stenciled by Esther. It was a roomy suite with wonderful bathroom. The furniture, furnishings, and bed linens were lovely and comfortable. Attention to details is evident from the warm welcome, the turndown service, and excellent breakfasts. Also making this the perfect place to stay is wireless internet service and large flat panel TV. The history of the home is unique and it was delightful to look through the rooms to find the history of the family who have owned the home for over 100 years. Esther's breakfasts are the best in southern cuisine.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

My son's fiance, mother, aunts, brother and sister-in-law with 6 month old stayed at the Elms. They are from Mexico and were reluctant to try a bed and breakfast. They were so impressed and loved the rooms decor and the wonderful breakfast. Esther made them feel very comfortable. The aunts loved that they could walk from the Elms to the downtown area. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadley, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

The Elms is a lovely home with lots of history. Esther and Adele are wonderful hostesses. We felt like we were staying in our grandmother's house. Breakfast was unbelievably good. If you want to stay in a bed and breakfast that is both beautiful and comfortable chose The Elms!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

My sister and I went to Natchez for a Girlfriend's Getaway and stayed at The Elms. The owner/hostess was so hospitable and made us feel very welcome. The home itself is showing signs of age, but this only added to its charm and made us feel like we were truly living in the wonderful history of the home and the city, as everything we needed (wireless internet, flat screen TV, marble shower, spa towels & robes) was top notch. The location is great - walking distance to the downtown area overlooking the Mississippi River but enough away that you had peace & quiet. We also got an incredible value using one of their 2 night packages which included tours of several homes and a very cool ghost tour. I highly recommend The Elms, and specifically the Drake Room (the one we had).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Elms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Bed and Breakfast

Address: 801 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elms is an authentic antebellum mansion bed & breakfast in downtown Natchez. Managed by a 5th generation owner, the style is personal and luxurious. One feels more like an invitee than a guest. A Southern breakfast is served in the family dining room on antique china and silverware. Located in a park-like setting and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Elms Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elms Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.