We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Thailand Restaurant

Planet Thailand Restaurant
116 N Commerce Street, Natchez, MS
+1 601-442-4220
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 86 Restaurants in Natchez
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai, Vegetarian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Really fantastic Thai and Sushi. Really great cocktails and always excellent service in a quaint place. It's really one of my favorite places in Natchez.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average, but would try again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It was an average meal and service. Would I try it again? Probably. I think it may have just been an off night for the kitchen and service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our best dining experience in Natchez... So far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This was the best dining experience I had in Natchez.

We walked downtown for a while, got tired and hungry and walked in and were seated right away.

The pad Thai was good. My wife's dish was good (don't remember the name). The cabbage soup was really good. We ordered the Heart on Fire dessert. It was different. I could have done without the sprinkles lol.

Fried bananas with ice cream on a flaming plate. It was the first time the waitress had served it and was pretty surprised at the presentation. It was funny to watch the cook light the plate and say "go, go NOW!" The dessert was kind of like the carriage ride. Unique and enjoyable, but there's no point in having it a second time.

Two entrees, one dessert, one (strong) mixed drink, we both left satisfied. $34 + tip.

So far it's the only place I'd eat again if we come back to Natchez.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, MS
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sushi for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Planet Thailand is a favorite for lunch (though they serve dinner as well) because they offer the Sushi Bento Box, appetizer, salad, dessert, California Roll, and your choice of another sushi item from a fairly long list. I can't believe they can put this lunch together for such a great price!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good, But Not Impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I love Thai food, but I wasn't overly impressed by this place. The sushi rolls (yes, although it is Thai, they have a large selection of sushi) were quite good, but my lemongrass soup left much to be desired. The soup tasted wonderful, but was so full of chopped bits of hard lemongrass that it was like eating a bowl of chopped, wet straw.
The service was not bad, but there seemed to be a bit of confusion among the staff and we had to ask for items such as soy sauce and chopsticks that should have been delivered with our food.
I won't steer you away from this place, but just don't expect it to blow your socks off.
And don't order the spicy lemongrass soup.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Thailand Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Planet Thailand Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planet Thailand Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.