We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant 1818 at Monmouth Historic Inn

Restaurant 1818 at Monmouth Historic Inn
36 Melrose Avenue at John Quitman Blvd., Natchez, MS 39120
+1 601-442-5852
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 86 Restaurants in Natchez
Price range: $21 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Restaurant 1818 (in Monmouth Historic Inn) – When dining at with us, you’ll be dining within the only true Antebellum dining experience in all of Natchez. Here you’ll dine in what was originally the Men’s and Ladies’ parlors. These two parlors are adorned with authentic period crystal gasoliers, lighting fixtures that burn gas instead of electricity to this very day. These impressive reproduction chandeliers and wall sconces were custom made for Monmouth Historic Inn by the artisans at Waterford Crystal in Ireland. At Restaurant 1818 guests can select from a choice of individual menu items on an a la carte basis. A full wine list and wine by the glass program is available to ensure your dining experience is the very best Natchez has to offer!• Dine inside the Mansion• Impeccable Service• Gourmet a la carte • Southern Cuisine • Exquisite fine dining• Soft Music & Candlelight• Private Dining & Group Reservations Available - Open Nightly – Tuesday-Sunday - Quitman Lounge/Study – Casual Dining available nightly - 7 days a week!
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Sitting in the main house for dinner was amazing; so authentic. And they thoughtfully made a custom vegetarian entree for my daughter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    16
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Find somewhere else to eat in Natchez”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I made reservations for 2 at 1818 and received a call a day later asking if we would like to move to the Study. The study is the bar and internet access/bathroom for the hotel guest not the restaurant. We had to wait on a table cloth to be put on a table and listen to the hotel guest talking and checking their email.

We placed our order for dinner and the first course appeared and that was it, nothing over an hour and still no food. Got up left, will not go back to 1818 and when I complained the person in charge made it sound like it was my fault.. Not ever again!.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

George was our waiter. He was so much fun and took care of us very well. The food was delicious. I had the redfish and it was perfect. The veggies were delicious and the desserts even better. The atmosphere was lovely. We were there fairly early (6:00) and had the place to ourselves. To sit in this room and enjoy the antiques and just the feel of dining in the 1800's was over the top. Very enjoyable meal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food, service, atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I and a friend each had the 5-course prix-fixe and we all thought it was excellent. Two of us had the filet, one the redfish, soup, salad, appetizer, dessert, everything was just great. The waitress was gracious, service very good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You've Got To Be Kidding!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I, along with friends,recently dined at 1818 Monmouth. We had been warned in reviews that the experience for some was not so great, but we certainly didn't expect the reviews to be so accurate! We ordered "small plates"-quail, carrots, collards, and chow chow. The quail was a very small mound of meat about 4 small slices, 3 carrot slices, and literally 1/2 teaspoon of collards on one side of the tiny mound of quail and 1 teaspoon of collards on the other side!! That's it. Granted, many restaurant entrees are entirely too big but never have I experienced a meal like that. It amazes me that they aren't embarrassed to serve such portions. The real kicker was when the waitress asked it we were too full for dessert!!! Really? Are you kidding me?
You may order "large plates" and maybe they are really large but be forewarned. If you order a "small plate" be prepared and eat before you go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 1818 at Monmouth Historic Inn also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant 1818 at Monmouth Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant 1818 at Monmouth Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.