We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite experience in Natchez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Mama's Tamales

Fat Mama's Tamales
500 S Canal Street, Natchez, MS
(601) 442-4548
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 85 restaurants in Natchez
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A favorite experience in Natchez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went back to Fat Mama's on this trip, like we have every single time we've been to Natchez. It's a fun atmosphere with Jimmy Buffet music playing in the background, and a great place for a few beers and tamales. The food is served quickly, and is hot and delicious. As we leave town every time, we go by and get a frozen "Gringo Pie" to take back home. Fat Mama's is a ritual for us with every trip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    69
    59
    27
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Natchez, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Not fast food but service is very good. Frozen drinks and beer - really good tamales. Has a "gringo pie" that I would reccommend to any one.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable:”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Theis restaraunt is very nice. I love Mexican food. Nice people and very friendly. Delicious food to chose from.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Tamales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stopped in for lunch during the Baloon Festval.The place was packed. I ordered a dozen Tamales and had my order in less than a minute's wait. But we all know that it always comes down to the taste and let me assure you, my wife and I have never had a better Tamale.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Delicious tamales, good margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

When traveling, I'm always enticed by hearing about a good frozen margarita. So, my husband and I ended up here after our late afternoon carriage ride. We weren't too hungry, but needed to eat something along with the margaritas, so we shared an order of chips and cheese ($5) and 1/2 dozen tamales ($4.75). Along with the crackers that came with tamales, we had plenty to snack on. The tamales were very good.......not heavy, very favorful. The 16 oz. frozen margaritas ($5....known as "Knocked You Naked") were good, not the best I've had, but good. I would have had to drink another to get a buzz, but I was satisfied. Very reasonable prices. Nice atmosphere. Good place to watch a football game. There are no waiters, but I left a tip on the table not knowing that my husband had already tipped on the credit card when he placed the order at the counter; that's okay. If ever in Natchez again, we will surely stop here......with a bigger appetite.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Mama's Tamales also viewed

 

Been to Fat Mama's Tamales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Mama's Tamales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.