We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Natchez Museum of African American History and Culture
301 Main Street, Natchez, MS
601-445-0728
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 31 Attractions in Natchez
Type: History Museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum that chronicles the rich history and culture of African Americans in the southern United States.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“not open!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed over particularly to visit this museum and stated hours were 10 a.m. for opening. We waited until 10:15 a.m. and no one opened and no lights were on. Sorry . . . thought it would have been a fascinating museum for Natchez history.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Natchez, Mississippi
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I have often gone by this museum when visiting Natchez, but opening hours are limited, so this year was my first visit. The museum has some very good exhibits; but in other sections the collection is haphazard. For example, the section on African art had hand-lettered signs and only provided the most basic information. The sections on slavery and post-war were professionally done and dispelled many of the myths of that period. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful as was the Director – I became a member of the Friends of the Museum after my visit.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson MS
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Museum of African American History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Excellent presentation of the lives of African Americans of the area, both the well known and the not so well known. Many items will bring back memories for people of different races.
Our guide seemed to have an encyclopedic knowledge of and true passion for his subject - and a voice that could give James Earl Jones a run for the money!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The afro-Americans of the old south had both good lives and bad lives...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The south could not have survived without the afro slaves...and that was proven true after the slaves were set free. The south as they knew it collapsed. Find out why. Learn about a very courageous people here.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans area
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Day visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Not very big but very inforative and well worth seeing, be sure and read all the articles

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natchez Museum of African American History and Culture also viewed

 

Been to Natchez Museum of African American History and Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natchez Museum of African American History and Culture, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.