We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful and educational” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jefferson College

Jefferson College
Highway 61, Natchez, MS
601 442 2901
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 42 things to do in Natchez
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The grounds of this historic college include buildings dating from 1817 and a quaint nature trail.
Zaltbommel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
132 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful and educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The reception building has a small exhibit about the years it was a military school. One of the two school/dormitory buildings is open to see the ground floor. Walking trough that building you see the kitchen building and the kind of plaza where they filmed for the TV series North and South. Don't forget to walk the nature trail and see the two graves of the men that died here. The old buildings are currently being restored and we would love to go visit it again when the restorations are finished. The college is surrounded by big, beautiful trees which make the place a peaceful area to walk in.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, LA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Historic Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Jefferson College. We learned a few things about Natchez and the history of the college. A part of the mini series North and South was filmed there. Very interesting history and so educational.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

On our way to Natchez from Vicksburg we stumbled across Jefferson College which is only 1 block off the highway. The grounds are beautiful and the history of this site is impressive. It's worth the stop.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Natchez visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We got there to late to go inside, however the ground and view from outside were very impressive, so make the time to drive over to the location for sure.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Mississippi became a state in the "front yard" of Jefferson College. Wish we could have gone inside each of the buildings, but I understand restoration is ongoing. Free admission -- great for groups.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jefferson College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jefferson College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.