We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“king of cotton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose

Melrose
Melrose-Montebello Parkway, Natchez, MS
601 442 7047
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 31 Attractions in Natchez
Type: Historic Sites, National Parks, Cultural
Activities: Leisure education, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of Natchez National Historical Park, Melrose is an antebellum plantation that features a slavery exhibit.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“king of cotton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

imagine that a lot of the plantation owners were actually northerners that saw huge economic possibilities in the south back in the 1840's and 1850's....plenty of slave help and a huge cash product in cotton.....go see Melrose...lots of actual, original furniture, pictures, dinnerware, very authentic of that lost era....the actual slave cabins....the tour was really good

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    41
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“So glad we visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to Melrose. It's a National Park Service site. The admission was $10, and students were $5 for the tour. The grounds were free to explore. The out buildings were also free, including the carriage barn, stables, and slave cabin. This tour was so much better than the "plantation" tours we did. Slavery was explained, and there was an exhibition explaining the effect on families. I would choose this hands down over any of the much more expensive, sanitized plantation tours.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“You own it - go see it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This preserved/restored house, fully furnished and, with the outbuildings, accessible, is part of the Natchez National Historical Park. Our ranger guide was knowledgeable, articulate, and friendly, and kept our interest during the tour of the main house. .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry, Mississippi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very knowledgable tour guide and beautiful home and grounds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and hour before tour schedule (they only your certain times so check this at their website) but we walked around grounds and looked at all the buildings which took up the hour. The house was under going repair but did not take away too much scenery of the home. Our tour guide was awesome. She knew so much and had a wonderful sense of humor! You are allowed pictures in home just not using flash. The home is beautiful. They have done a great job of keeping it up. Defiantly will be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Renovations stalled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We arrived here around noon, which was 2 hours before the next house tour was due to begin, so we just walked the grounds. The home looked as though it could really be something special if the park service ever gets enough money to work on the grounds and the house. The paint was completely stripped off the house and there was scaffolding and makeshift fencing around the house. All the shutters on the inside and the outside of the house were closed, so it gave a very ghost-like appearance. The fencing around the house had obviously been there a long time and there was no work going on in the middle of the day on a Friday, so it doesn't seem promising that this project will be completed any time soon. The outbuildings were pretty much empty and devoid of anything of interest, so we decided not to wait on the next indoor tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melrose also viewed

 

Been to Melrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.