We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1800s Time Capsule” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose

Melrose
Melrose-Montebello Parkway, Natchez, MS
601 442 7047
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 31 attractions in Natchez
Type: Historic Sites, National Parks
Activities: Leisure education, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Part of Natchez National Historical Park, Melrose is an antebellum plantation that features a slavery exhibit.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“1800s Time Capsule”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This home is still decorated with its original furniture. It is a beautiful home with an interesting hisory.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    31
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great masion with a great tour guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We loved our visit to Melrose. The tour is free, the furniture is very nice, and the tour great was really enthusiastic and fun. High marks for Barney the tour guide.!!!!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MS
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“VERY WELL DONE TOUR BY THE NTL PARK SVC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Title says it all. The guide had a LOT of back story info and made the tour enjoyable (even for us guys taking their wives to antebellum homes).

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Most "in tact" mansion in Natchez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Melrose is incredible. My favorite part is how original everything is, even down to the silk drapes still hanging from the windows. Melrose is owned by the US parks dept. and is great. I always try to take another tour of Melrose when I'm in Natchez. It's one of the best.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Melrose is a beautiful estate and an interesting tour, run by the U.S. Park Service. Be aware, though, that they are in the process of restoring the exterior of the home to its original appearance...so it had kind of an "unfinished" look at the time of our visit (Dec. 2011). I'm sure it will look fabulous when they're finished with it...and hope to go back one day to check it out! It's still a beautiful home, though, and definitely worth a visit when you're in Natchez.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melrose also viewed

 

Been to Melrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Melrose to your Saves list