We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly dated but clean.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nevasur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nevasur to your Saves list
Hotel Nevasur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Virgen de las Nieves, 17, 18196 Nevada, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Nevada
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Slightly dated but clean.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chose this hotel because its half board regime provided the best value for money for a 4 day ski trip to Sierra Nevada. At a first impression it seemed cosy and the staff was quite pleasant. The room was quite basic, the furnishings were dated and the beds weren't that confortable, but it was clean and spacious.

Dinner was served only at 8pm, so after leaving the slopes at 5pm we were starving. During our stay the mains varied quite a bit, but the sides and salads were always the same (same dish, but made fresh on the day). Quality was good, it only lacked variety from night to night.
Breakfast was goood enough.

The hotel didnt have a ski storage facility, so we had to keep all the material in our room, without an adequate support for it.

To reach the main square and lifts from the hotel was a few hundred meters down a slightly sloped road. Not too bad at all going down, slightly worse coming up, but not too bad. There is a chair lift that can bring you further up the hill and you choose to walk down after a tirying ski day, but we didn't bother doing that.

All and all, we werent expecting a 5* hotel for what we paid, so we weren't dissapointed. It is good value for money if you're not fussy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    7
    10
    13
See reviews for
13
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almeria, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel was a short walk to the Ski slopes, restaurants and Shops.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
The continental breakfast was very nice.
The accomodation was comfortable, warm and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for money, reception staff were not exactly warming and friendly but the waiter / barman was exceptional and made up for it. We were half board and got what we paid for.so no complaints on quality of food. Dinner was a hot buffet which was fine. Breakfast was also a buffet with a choice of hot and cold food, no complaints there. Room was satisfactory, basic, very clean and lovely and warm. Would stay again especially if on a budget and if just using as a ski stop over night. Location of hotel is fine if you don't mind walking uphill back to hotel, then again you are on the side of a mountain! Overall satisfactory!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very friendly i have a little girl and the waiter really made an effort with her all the staff were fab!!

The breakfast was a typical spanish buffet breakfast but had lots of choice cerals jams etc.

The dinner was very nice again typical spanish but very tasty a few different choices every nite nice and hot too. I am quiet fussy with food and didnt like some of the choices but there was a chicken dish every night which was gorgeous!!

The prices of the drinks was good compared to the rest of the resort.

We had 2 rooms one for 3 people and one for 2 people. The room for 2people was small but enough space for just 2. The other room was much bigger with a beautiful veiw from the window.
The rooms are a bit dated but that was part of the oldy worldy theme of the hotel!! Everything was exceptionally clean, bedrooms bathrooms and comunal areas, and very tidy. The rooms were very warm and very good for the price.

The whole hotel was warm and welcoming with a beautiful open fire in the lobby perfect to relax after a hard day skiing!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our Christmas - festive ski break ! Unfriendly - unwelcoming cold with no fires lit - no beer at the bar & no white wine in the 'so called' restaurant !! We stayed on a HB basis where the evening 'food' was pre cooked and left in the dining room COLD for each diner to 'MICROWAVE' themselves using 1 ancient microwave !!!! Unhygenic & disgusting !!! As a family we left this nightmare experience and went to a restaurant adding another €100 to our trip !!! Avoid this hotel until they learn what 'Customer Service' means !!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

My partner & I go to Sierra Nevada every year. We have stayed at this hotel a few nights before and were quite happy with it... however this most recent stay was awful! €90/night for a dirty room where the taps dribbled out ice cold water, despite the receptionist specifically stating hot water. Heating wasn't particularly good either. The breakfast was very limited (nothing left and they advised they wouldn't make more) and didn't taste very nice. When checking out there was no thank you or courtesy, they simply grab the credit card! It's safe to say this hotel has gone dramatically down hill in recent times and we won't be returning. ..oh and TV in the room didn't work either.

  • Liked — not much. location was ok.
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

For a mid-range hotel in a small ski resort such as this, the Nevasur is perfectly fine. There's not much to choose from in Sierra Nevada and I researched them all and this came up tops and I wasn't disappointed.

Granted, we stayed over Easter weekend and it was bound to be more expensive than usual but I have a nagging suspiscion that we could have got ourselves a deal had we booked much earlier and ended up staying at one of the Melia or other high-end hotels for a similar price.

Breakfast was buffet style and completely edible with a good range of choice. Bar in common area seemed friendly too.

  • Liked — Easy access to town and lifts
  • Disliked — Lack of parking
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nevasur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nevasur

Address: Virgen de las Nieves, 17, 18196 Nevada, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Nevada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Nevada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nevasur 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nevasur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevasur Hotel Sierra Nevada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nevasur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.