We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but needs major revamp.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel GHM Monachil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel GHM Monachil to your Saves list
Hotel GHM Monachil
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Maribel 10, 18196 Nevada, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain (Formerly Gran Hotel Monachil)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Nevada
Sotogrande, Spain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location but needs major revamp.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Excellent location for an experienced skier as you can ski in/out. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. The bad side, the hotel needs major revamp, room decoration very tired, bathroom fan could wake the dead, no hot water, no hairdryer and towels in room forgotten. Wifi is only accessible from ground and first floor. There is ski locker facilities but it was so dirty I decided not to use.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    19
    10
    10
See reviews for
14
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just back from my first ski trip (at the age of 46!) with my 2 boys and group of experienced skiers. Can't really fault the hotel, few minor comments. Water at dinner has to be bought by the bottle think maybe they could provide tap water especially as the water is fresh from the mountain spring and drinkable. Breakfast starts at 8am which seems quite late for a ski resort as people want to be up and out. The toaster is ridiculous, need to invest in a few more, top tip get your bread in quick!
Also, friends in our group had their room number used on a tab which reception tried to charge them for. All sorted satisfactorily but just be aware.
Yes we did have school trips but to be honest if you get in dining room early was never really a problem and food was plentiful although you may need to use the microwave but have done the same in a 5* all inclusive resort.
Have to say we had the best room in our party, room 314 was huge with 2 sinks, 2 toilets and 2 showers if you can request I would recommend.
For skiers the hotel is perfect you can ski to and from town. If you're not then the cable car down to town and the gondolas is only a short walk but obviously you are carrying your kit. On the downside these close at 5pm, which seems early so you need to leave the mountain quite early.
Overall I would recommend the hotel and if I return to Sierra Nevada I would happily stay here again. The staff were pleasant and rooms cleaned to a high standard every day.
Some of the reviews really give a bad impression of the hotel but they obviously had a very different experience to us, and I would say I have quite high standards.

Room Tip: 314 for a group of 4 or family, very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerez
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Not the prettiest or best looked after hotel, but the location more than makes up for what this antiquated hotel lacks in other departments. The best way to describe the Monachil is perhaps functional or adequate (you get what you pay for). Being able to put your skis on and head off down the piste without first having to take a long walk or catch a bus is for us more than worth putting up with a certain lack of style and modernity. And again at the end of the day you can return to the hotels skiing through the car park practically to the door of the ski room. Another plus is that there is a ski rental/service located right in the lobby of the hotel.

We stayed for five nights last week and didn´t really have any serious issues. The room and hotel are clean and the breakfast was fine. The staff were friendly and helpful (especially in the breakfast room and bar) and a little less so at Reception.

Of course the Monachil does have it´s problems. The web site says that there is WiFi throughout the hotel which was not the case. When we asked about it at Reception we were given 3 different answers by 3 different persons, but none offered an apology or a solution. The hotel is non-smoking, but our neighbors on the 3rd floor were smoking both in their rooms and in the corridors. The staff at reception told us that this could not be due to the smoke detectors throughout the hotel. I later checked the one in our room and one in the corridor on the 3rd floor and found no signs of life. The hotel is drafty and the heating isn´t the best especially in the 1st floor lounge. Finally, the hotel´s car park is not cleared of snow on any recurring/consistent basis (there is a charge for parking). It snowed quite a lot the day before our departure. And when we asked at Reception if at least the part of the car park where our car was trapped could be cleared, we were told that the person responsible for clearing it was busy, and that if we weren´t able to get our car out that some help could be found to give us a push. Luckily I was able to push us out myself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony facing the pistes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Dark and dreary,Staff unpleasant,evening meal very poor,no parking,room and most of hotel had curtains falling down and light bulbs missing,room had no basin plug or toilet brush and if you are really unlucky as we were you may be invaded by 60-70 school children with all the noise that brings,consider other hotels !!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Good service, you got skipasses and skis from the hotel. You can come and go to slopes directly from hotel. Breakfast was excellent, from protein to carbs. Rooms and facilities ok, free wifi, but did not work in our room in 4th floor. Englishpoken.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for a cost of €282, for a family of four, which was quite cheap for halfboard accommodation over the Easter holidays ... although you do have to use a chairlift to get from the main square to the hotel (free with ski pass, or €3.30 each way).

There was plenty of car parking for which we didn't pay anything (although I do think that other guests may have been charged) and ski storage in the basement.

Our room (404) was larger than others - although not as large and luxurious as the suites on the 5th floor. We had 2 soft single beds and 2 fullsize bunk beds but there are NO side rails, which is quite dangerous with young children. The bathroom was adequate with a good shower.

However, there was a school party of 90 staying whilst we were there, who were very loud in the corridors and banging on roomdoors until about 12.30am. The soundproofing in the bedrooms was non-existent.

The buffet meals were plentiful in quantity, with a good selection of starters but not much choice for the main course and dessert. Bar prices were expensive for beer, but good quality bottles of red wine were fairly priced.

In general, as in life, you get what you pay for. The better located, and higher-rated, hotels clearly cost more.

Room Tip: 5th floor suites are fully carpeted with baths and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

the hotel is not only old - it's dead old. no radiators in rooms - no way you dry up your cloth or ski boots; no spa, even it is mentioned - instead there is a room with wet sealing, the temperature there is about +5 degree. Jacuzzi is switched off but you can use sauna if you like getting outside the sauna in 5 degree... no parking place - few ones are always occupied. the personnel is extremely rude and lying - we called to booking.com to try to change the hotel and they re-sent us the hotel answer - the staff was blaming us in trying to leave for no reason and that we are served fine.

Room Tip: just choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel GHM Monachil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHM Monachil

Address: Avda. Maribel 10, 18196 Nevada, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain (Formerly Gran Hotel Monachil)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Nevada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Nevada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel GHM Monachil 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel GHM Monachil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel GHM Monachil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.