We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Sierra Nevada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Sierra Nevada to your Saves list
Melia Sierra Nevada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Pradollano, s/n, 18196 Nevada, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nevada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gibraltar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We spent 4 nights in Melia hotel. Very nice place to be. Rooms were clean. Service was very good. We really enjoyed our time. Very close to the centre and ski slopes. There were a lot of people and everybody seemed to be happy just be there. Meals were delicious, very nice selection of different sorts of food. Everything seemed to be very organised.
Thank you very much to all staff to make our weekend so enjoyable. Definetly place worth to come back!!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    100
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
100
64
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the Melia for 4 nights in mid-April. We took the Half board option which was great value. Having dinner included saved us the hassle of finding somewhere to eat (as most places looked shut this late in the season). We drank in both the main hotel bar and the tapas bar too, which offered a good variety and wasn’t bad value. The service was friendly and efficient, more than can be said for the majority of our experiences in Sierra Nevada.

Just a few things to note. We parked on the side of the road (free), I think that this wouldn’t be possible at a busier time during the season. Also the locker room is great too, warm, spacious and well located. Finally, as with most of the reviews, the rooms are really hot, even with the windows open it was almost unbearable. But this didn’t detract from a great few days. Oh, some reviews have said the hotel is dated; it's a little "70's" in places but really doesn’t spoil the ambiance.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel in the center of Pradolino in Sierra Nevada, less than 100 meters from the ski lift. There was a parking place in the hotel. We had a room with a nice view of Sierra Nevada. The room was nice, but quite small. The bed was comfortable and with a small balcony. The breakfast was excellent and with a great selection of food, juices, coffee and even sparkling wine. The staff were very helpful and nice, both in the restaurant and in the restaurant. A hotel that is perfect for a ski weekend in Sierra Nevada.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa L, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Morten310,

On behalf the entire team we would like to thank you for reporting your impressions about our hotel on Trip Advisor after your recent visit.

We appreciate to hear that your expectations were met with our Breakfast and our Location, do not hesitate that we will transmit all your comments

We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best to make your stay an amazing experience.

The entire team will be glad to welcome you soon,

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the miela for 4days and the hotel was faultless the spa and swimming pool is amazing!!! It's a nice touch that no children are allowed in the area after 8 so you can really relax. The rooms are average I would recommend getting a mountain view room we did not and was looking at a brick wall!

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa L, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Tommy O,

On behalf the entire team we would like to thank you for reporting your impressions and feelings regarding your last stay at Meliá Sierra Nevada.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with our spa.

On the other hand we are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests.

We hope to see you soon again in Sierra Nevada.
Best regards,
Marisa López – Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We spent a week with friends, including a 5, 7 & 8 year old, skiing across the Sierra Nevada mountain and staying here.
The room was clean and comfortable, but very hot and stuffy. It was quite difficult to get the correct temp with the radiator and/or window! Regularly cleaned and the staff were quick with extras, e.g. towels etc
No problems with wifi etc (YAY!!), the lounge and bar are very comfortable with good prices. The leisure facilities are very smart, but we were there during a very busy week and the swimming pool was packed. And one of the best ski boot locker rooms I've seen - a few more benches would be perfect.
The restaurant? Good and bad! 8-10 breakfast and dinner timings are too late when you have small kids and a full days skiing. They brought the dinner forward to 7.30 through the week, but there was still some very tired kids around us.
The food is served buffet style - amazing range, but despite a cook to order hot plate, many of the other hot options are not being kept at a high enough temperature. We often ended up with luke-warm or cold food. Just needs better hot plate facilities. And oddly for Spain - it was often difficult to get a simple jug of water for the table.
However, one of our party is a coeliac and the staff was so helpful, cooking gluten free food to order with no problem at all. Full marks there.
Slight issue with reception staff; it was a struggle. Unsure if it was a translation issue but didn't have a good customer service experience. I was surprised how few within the resort spoke English.
And it would be so good to have some details about the ski-area and daily weather reports available from staff. Oddly - nothing at all was offered despite us all being skiers. Given the resort communication in general was very poor - it would be helpful if we were given a heads up from staff regarding the mountain conditions before setting out. A couple of mornings the mountain was shut - and not a peep from staff warning us.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa L, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Onthefrontfoot,

On behalf the entire team we would like to thank you for reporting your impressions and feelings regarding your last stay at Meliá Sierra Nevada at February.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and spa.

On the other hand we are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests so we take into account all your suggestions and comments and we will transmit them to the responsibles.

We hope to see you soon again in Sierra Nevada to welcome you back to Melia Sierra Nevada!

Best regards,
Marisa López – Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Great breakfast buffet, pool was nice ( but overcrowded), rooms cramped and stuffy, bad wifi ( but only in the rooms). We enjoyed the exercise classes ( taking place in the Melia Sol y Nieve). Overall OK but could do better.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa L, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, March 1, 2015
Dear nondomuk,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Melia Sierra Nevada

We are sorry to learn that we have not reached your expectations this time.

Do not doubt that we take very seriously all the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests and we work day by day in order to keep improving our hotel and service.

All our team hopes to get an opportunity to welcome you here again soon.

Kind Regards,
Marisa López – Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

we have just returned from a wonderful 3 daysskiing in Sierra Nevada, Spain, staying at the Melia Sierra Nevada was a delight. However, the rooms were TOO hot and we had to turn the radiator off and open the door and the beds are a wee bit hard. The buffet breakfast and dinner were fantastic and the staff so helpful, one of our party has an allergy and the chefs went out of their way to help where food selection was concerned. We will definitely return again next year.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa L, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
Dear Z1389PJpeters,
What a big pleasure to read your nice comment referring your last stay with us. Thank you so much for it and for sharing it with another Trip advisor’s users.
We are hugely pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided and were impressed by our Team. Their passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed our guest expectations every day is the reason why we are proud of our profession.
Once again we thank you for your recent visit and we hope to welcome you soon.
Warm Regards.
Marisa López – Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sierra Nevada

Address: Plaza de Pradollano, s/n, 18196 Nevada, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Nevada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nevada
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nevada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Sierra Nevada 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Melia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Melia Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sierra Nevada Hotel Sierra Nevada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Sierra Nevada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.