We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Sol y Nieve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Sol y Nieve to your Saves list
Melia Sol y Nieve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Pradollano, s/n | Sol y Nieve, 18196 Nevada, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Nevada
Europe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a very nice stay in this hotel a couple of times this year. Good location and the rooms are also very nice and clean. Breakfast is decent and the staff are in general very nice. The kids pool is great for the children and is fantastic for them after a few hours of skiing. I do think this is the nicest hotel in Sierra Nevada. Rooms in The Level are very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Marky1,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Melia! It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it.

On behalf of the entire team of Melia we would like to thank you for the time you took to share your positive opinion about your experience in Melia on TripAdvisor and for your kind words about our services and staff.

The entire staff is looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future!

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    85
    43
    9
    10
See reviews for
108
53
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just returned from spending 4 nights at this hotel with my two sons. I was very impressed by the excellent service everyone provided. Any time I had a question or a request it was almost immediately handled and with a smile. The breakfast and dinner buffets (and again service) were also very good but more fresh vegetables would have been great. We had a quad family room for three and were quite comfortable and the room was very clean. The only reason why I have not given the hotel a 5 rating is because the walls were paper thin and as the flooring was all tiles sound carried very very easily so you could not go to sleep before 11 or midnight because of the noise coming from people in the hallways or in other rooms. This was not great as then you were again woken up by 7 with all the noise of the guests getting ready to head to the slopes. Finally, it would have been really nice to have the option to make a tea or coffee in the room as most hotel chains offer. There was a fridge in the room and that was useful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear LockartsUS,

It has been very kind of you, that you took the time to let us know about your amazing experience!

We are hugely proud to know that our team turned your stay into marvelous memories. I will share your kind words with the entire team who will be very glad to know that our effort is highly appreciated by our guests.

We take into account your suggestions in order to improve our service. Tripadvisor is a very useful tool not only for travelers but also for us, we can detect the areas in which we have to focus our effort to improve our services.

We are really pleased that you have had an impressive stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!!

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Booked a family room which was a good size with two single sofa beds and 2 twin beds pushed together to form a double. Great mountain view from the room (124). Room was clean and well tidied / cleaned daily . There was some noise from neighbouring rooms but to be expected in a marble / tiled floor environment.
Food (H Board) was excellent, plentiful & varied with attentive staff .
Good location for gondola's with secure ski storage included. Nice bar area (Q Lounge) , with good selection of fairly priced drinks for a ski resort. Parking is expensive and cannot be added to hotel bill, but a 5 min walk out of village is 5 Euro / Day vs 24 Euro at Hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Good Afternoon Frequnthotelstay,

We highlight appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us and other guests through TripAdvisor because we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

It is a pleasure for us to know that our customers feel comfortable and glad with our facilities and services because this is the main goal Meliá Sol y Nieve Hotel and our Company, Meliá Hotels International, and we all thank you for appreciate the hard work that all our team do every day.

Your sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

After a gap of four years or so, we have stayed at the Melia Sol-y-Nieve twice recently - just before Christmas and for a weekend in early February. The significance of the gap is that in that time the hotel has been extended and part-refurbished and there have been some significant changes, not all for the good.
FIrst the good things: It is still in a great location, close to the action and in particular all the skiing facilities. And it is geared to skiing with a great locker room in the basement. Secondly the breakfast is nothing short of excellent. A great variety of food from the buffet as well as eggs cooked to order. The only issue is that the staff are too quick to clear plates away.
The old rooms have not been refurbished and, as others say, lack adequate soundproofing. But at least they are light and bright and have a bath (with shower fixture too). The new rooms (which we had on our 2nd stay) are larger and better soundproofed, but the dark wood and flooring, combined with the ceiling spotlights which did not diffuse light very well, made the rooms surprisingly dark. And if you want a bath DO NOT book any of the newer rooms, as they only have showers. On the whole the newer premium rooms were much better than the older ones, but it is as well to be aware of what you will gert, as the website is not clear about the differences.
As others have said, the website makes no mention of the charges for the pool and spa. Before the refurbishment there was a conventional pool, free to use for all residents. What exists now is a kind of spa experience (don't expect a pool that you can swim laps in), for which the €27 charge (plus €3.50 if you dont have your own swimming cap), is nothing short of outrageous. And if you do want to fork out for the use of the spa pool, it doesnt open until 13.00!
The other offensively large charge is for parking, at €24 per night, but at least there are other much lower priced options not far away.
So, a great location, good facilities, but all the extra costs can make a stay at the Sol-Y-Nieve quite expensive and, ultimately, poor value.
One saving grace was Fernando, the Guest Experience Manager. Every hotel should have a Fernando, as he put nearly everything that went wrong right....and where he could not sort things out himself he at least compensated for issues (so for example giving us free access to the pool one afternoon). However there is only so much apologising and compensating that one person can do - judging by my experience and that of others who have posted reviews, the management will need to look at the charges it makes for its facilities, as well as a schedule to renovate the 'classic' rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear JSM8,

What a big pleasure to read your nice comment referring your last stay with us. Thank you so much for it and for sharing it with another Trip advisor’s users, and thank you also for your words with respect me... I really appreciate them.

Our apologies for the inconveniences you found about the bathroom, spa or parking. We do our best to exceed our guest expectations and we are really sorry to know that we have not reached yours.

We will take good notice of all your impressions to try to avoid these incidents in the future and give our guests the best quality of service and product.

Once again we thank you for your recent visit and we hope to welcome you soon!

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I suppose it all depends on where you are staying in the hotel. We had an old room advertised as bright but in reality far from bright with small windows looking out on a flat roof. The room was old fashioned and small. Worse was the fact that there is no noise insulation. Neither between rooms nor to the hallways. A great disappointment was the fact that the pool cost 29 euros per person for an hour. This makes using the pool photos on their site simply misleading. On the plus side, staff were very friendly, location is unbeatable, and breakfast is very good. All in all a good hotel for families with younger children. We won't go back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear DIEDERIK001,

On behalf of the entire team of Melia Sol y Nieve we would like to thank you for the time you took to share your opinion about your experience in our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with respect to the aspects you mentioned. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Do not hesitate that every single comment will be carefully analyzed, following our continuous improvement plan.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

your sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Just returned after a 2 night stay at The Level in this hotel. It's not a cheap option but we would have to say it did not disappoint and was worth every cent. The Level Lounge is very luxurious with a wide selection of drinks, snacks etc in a most comfortable and relaxing environment. The reception staff at the Lounge are extremely professional and helpful. We had full board which was very satisfactory with plenty of choice and we used the leisure centre between 1.00 and 4.00 which is free. Don't think it would be worth paying the ridiculous prices they charge to use it outside these hours. Would happily return there but would choose The Level,

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Thay-50,

We highlight appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us and other guests through TripAdvisor because we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

We were delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our the level services, you can be sure that we will report those comments to the The Level staff.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.

Your sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

But that's a good thing. Pay a little extra & upgrade to the Level. You will not be disappointed. 1st class accommodation & 1st class service. Great fresh food with huge choice. What more could you ask for.

Room Tip: upgrade & get a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Witheldno,

We were delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality. Your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain.

Thank you so much for sharing your recommendations with the rest of users of tripadvisor with respect to the Level rooms and the other services.

I would like to thank you for such a completely and inspirited review regarding your stay in our Hotel. We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words,

Your sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Sol y Nieve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sol y Nieve

Address: Plaza de Pradollano, s/n | Sol y Nieve, 18196 Nevada, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Nevada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nevada
#3 Spa Hotel in Nevada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Sol y Nieve 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Melia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Sol y Nieve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sol y Nieve Hotel Sierra Nevada
Melia Sierra Nevada
Melia Hotel Sierra Nevada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Sol y Nieve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.