We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acqua Hotel Mill Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Acqua Hotel Mill Valley to your Saves list
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
555 Redwood Highway, Mill Valley, CA 94941   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mill Valley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We had nothing but an overall great experience. The front desk was very accommodating, I think the guys name was Jordan, and I missed the blonde ladies name, but they both went out of their way to make our stay great.

Example, they had apples and cookies at the front desk, when I grabbed a couple cookies they offered me some milk. I can't recall a place offering something like that before! :-)

Great complimentary wine tasting which was nice to sit outside and enjoy the view.

I saw they also had free bike rentals, but we weren't able to use.

Complimentary breakfast with the full spread.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    119
    18
    13
    10
See reviews for
63
131
19
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Our daughter and family live in Mill Valley and we have stayed at the Aqua a dozen times. Location great, rooms fine, service wonderful, breakfasts excellent, wine and cheese ok. It is also 200 yards from the Airporter bus stop, so it is perfect if you don't need a car.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I prefer this over any chain hotel - the atmosphere and service were wonderful. Breakfast is generous as is the wine/cheese reception. Highest marks are for staff and lobby area with is view of the bay and the water feature lending to a relaxing place for an end of day sit. Rooms are nice. My only issue was the street noise but ear plugs solved that problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Located right off 101which is the main artery of Marin County, the hotel looks out on the Bay. There beautiful views from each room, which are well appointed, with quality bedding and a lovely terrace with chairs overlooking the water. The breakfast is super great and is included with each night's stay. A wide choice of foods are available and the room is filled with sunlight. There is an expresso bar all day and a wine and cheese reception every evening. Also included are bicycles which can be used to ride the lovely long bike trails from Mill Valley to Sausalito. So pretty!
With easy proximity to San Francisco and all of Marin it is a super great choice! We loved it!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Geneva and Rachel helped us with our stay without reservations established, recommended places to see around Mill Valley, provided complimentary wine, provided additional information, dining information nearby, etc. The rooms and provisions were excellent, hospitality excellent and would highly recommend this location. complimentary bicycles were provided for those interested in riding around Bay perimeter which highly enjoyed and advisory information about where to stay next on our subsequent stops.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Booked this hotel instead of usual chain properties for a change, and because I wanted to be close to the Golden Gate Bridge to photograph sunrise and sunset (and it is less than 10 minutes from the best viewpoints of the bridge, bay and city). The hotel sounded good on its website and these reviews, and they were spot on. Don't what this hotel used to be prior to Acqua, but wife & I loved it. Huge room with water view and bathroom that was the size of most hotel rooms, extremely comfortable bed, great night sleep. You can hear the 101 a little bit, but I can say it was not bothersome - and I am a light sleeper sensitive to noise.

Breakfast was wholesome and lots of choices, the wine reception in the evening an unexpected extra treat. Front desk staff were extremely and wonderfully helpful and informative.

Only knock on the place was the lobby absolutely reeked of a cleaning chemical or air freshener when we walked - really noticeable and suffocating. Perhaps they just cleaned the carpets and I hope that is not the common scent because it is just overpowering. Fortunately the hallways and room had no such stench!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business and I can't say enough about this hotel. It's located conveniently right off 101, however it overlooks the inlet..there are complimentary bikes to take for a ride around the bike/walking path. A great de-stresser after a long working day.

The foyer is striking with a wall fountain and soothing colors. The two women at the front desk were more than gracious. Next to the front desk is complimentary water, coffee and tea available 24/7. My double queen room was again, spacious with plenty of closet space. The bathroom was spa-like and included all EO bath products..luxurious towels and plenty of sink space. I was on the first floor and my patio doors opened up to a small, somewhat private patio area overlooking the inlet.

Breakfast is on the second floor and includes eggs, bacon/sausage, fruit, pastries, oatmeal, waffles, many beverages and local papers. If the weather is nice you are able to eat outside overlooking the inlet, however I chose to eat inside.

I find the Acqua a little oasis away from all the hustle and bustle and only a short drive into the city. It will be my new go to place to stay for any reason, when I am visiting the SF area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acqua Hotel Mill Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua Hotel Mill Valley

Address: 555 Redwood Highway, Mill Valley, CA 94941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by elements of sky and water, the Acqua Hotel in scenic Mill Valley, California, melds stylish city sophistication with the natural beauty which surrounds it. Our location on the edge of Richardson Bay offers dazzling water views against the backdrop of Mt. Tamalpais. Guest rooms are smart and simple with a Zen-like tranquility, inspiring views and all the amenities you need to make your stay perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Acqua Hotel Mill Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqua Resort Mill Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acqua Hotel Mill Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.