We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ for the Acqua Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acqua Hotel Mill Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Acqua Hotel Mill Valley to your Saves list
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
555 Redwood Highway, Mill Valley, CA 94941   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mill Valley
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A+ for the Acqua Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Acqua Hotel and can't say enough good things about it!. Everyone on staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and our room (102) was perfect - very clean, spacious, very quiet, with a private patio overlooking the bay, and a large bathroom with soaking tub and separate shower. And in addition to being well cared for, we were certainly well fed! The complimentary breakfast buffet was excellent and included assorted fresh fruits, hot and cold cereals, eggs, bagels, croissants, muffins, jams, bacon, sausage, and Belgian waffles. They even had soy milk in addition to whole milk, fat free, and half-and-half! In addition to the coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and apples available 24/7 in the lobby, they also serve complimentary wines, cheeses, fresh fruit, and crackers every evening and freshly baked cookies every night. And the complimentary bicycles were also a nice touch.

The hotel's location was ideal, as it enabled us to take the Larkspur Ferry (the terminal is a short car ride from the hotel and has free parking) into San Francisco, where we could experience the city w/o worrying about traffic, parking, etc.

The Acqua is a wonderful, welcoming hotel which we look forward to staying at again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102, which faced away from the highway and so was very quiet. The room was clean a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    119
    18
    13
    10
See reviews for
63
131
19
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

All of the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, beyond the call of duty. Wine and nibbles greeted us on arrival and a roaring fire. An excellent hotel was recommended nearby and warm chocolate chip cookies greeted us on our return. The breakfast was superb. The receptionist printed off directions for our onward journey and we could have had a bike ride, if only we'd had time. For a reasonably priced hotel, it was very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a great hotel and location if you want to be close to the San Fran Bay but would like to be at least a little ways away from the very busy areas. The hotel is small and is neighbored by business offices, banks and private residences. The parking is not that great (very limited) and loading luggage out of your car into the front of the hotel is very difficult as the entrance to the lobby from the parking lot has a significant slope away fom the door towards the lot which makes it very hard to unpack a car and get bags in (we mention this as it could actually be very, very difficult for anyone that has any sort of trouble with knee/hip/strength issues). The hotel area has a wonderful small bay that it sits on and a series of walking paths around it that are just great. The service was very good, the room was nice (a little outdated) and clean, and overall it was a very nice stay. Its less than a 15 minute drive to the Golden Gate Bridge Sausalito and other very scenic spots

Room Tip: We upgraded to a junior suite that overlooks the bay. Its worth the little extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Pluses: The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The property and rooms are immaculately clean ~ this is a huge plus for my husband and me! There is a bike and running trail that passes right along the property on the waterway that leads to a local dog park and all the way into Sausalito; this is very convenient if you like to exercise like me. The hotel offers complimentary mountain bikes (only 2 are available), which my husband and I took advantage of one day ~ a lot of fun. Nice/delicious breakfast items; Nice dining area outside overlooking the water; Free parking; Complimentary passes to local gym; wine and cheese in the lobby by the fireplace and trickling wall fountain in the evening for guests; 3 minute drive to Sausalito. The hotel tries to make up for what it might lack in amenities. We would stay again as long as we could get the room we wanted and the price was right.

Biggest drawback: After looking online at what appeared to be a very peaceful, serein property, I was really quite surprised and disappointed to find that this property is located right alongside a very busy, noisy roadway, Hwy 101 to be exact (my fault for not pinpointing the exact location on mapquest beforehand). If your room is not directly facing the back of the property, you will have road noise to contend with, especially at night. During the day, my husband and I like to leave our sliding glass door open on our “balcony” for the fresh air, but the road noise was loud. At night, we had to plug in our white noise machine that we brought with us to drown out some of the noise. The rooms are situated with certain rooms facing the back of the property, looking at the water, and a few rooms that face out the side of the property, with a clear view of Hwy 101 and the parking lot along the water. Our room was one of these side rooms not directly facing the back of the property, but closer to the water than to Hwy 101; facing out along the side of the property brought the noise from the road. There are side rooms closer to 101 than we were; any closer to the Hwy would have been misery for sure, as well as the ice machine being located right outside those rooms, which has a horrible echo in the cement and glass enclosure of the hallway. I would not stay in this room again, and would definitely NOT stay in any of the rooms that were any closer to the roadway than ours was. If we return, it would be because we were able to obtain a Junior suite, which in contrast, was serenely quiet like we would have wanted the first time (I checked out one of these rooms to see the difference). This is a room that allows you to leave the sliding glass door open on your balcony and not hear a thing outside.

Room Tip: "Sleep Quality" depends upon which room you get. I would rate "terrible" if my r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was very nicely furnished, with comfortable beds and a newly remodeled bathroom. I really appreciated the environmentally friendly toiletries. The breakfast was great, hot and cold food, wide variety, great service during breakfast, and beautiful setting. The evening wine and cheese was a nice touch too. It was too bad the hotel doesn't have its own bar or restaurant. Front desk staff were mixed, some were friendly and helpful, others clearly didn't know the area or their way around to offer advice. Parking lot is small, and ran out of space on several nights so we were sent around back to the service parking lot. Hotel is adjacent to a nice waterfront walking path that was great in the morning to get out and stretch your legs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The room we were in was tiny, loud and dirty. I would not recommend this place to anyone unless you have to stay in mill valley and the mill valley inn is booked. Very disappointed with this place. The rugs in particular were filthy and had cars in them due to wear. The sink was literally cracked in the middle of the basin. The walls are paper thin and we could hear neighbors and traffic all night long.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leucadia CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have stayed here before and been happy. The past 3 days at the Acqua were most disappointing. The refrigerator did not work and the desk person said it would be 3 days before it would be repaired. When I got nasty, they did manage to send in one from another room after more than a day with none The cleaning carts, huge ones, were left in the hallway outside our room every night we were there and most of the day, too. The carpets and bathroom fixtures are worn and need to be replaced. We planned to spend 5 days at Christmas at the Acqua, but the manager rudely made it clear that we would probably not get the room we requested. What used to be a fine Mill Valley hotel with a great location is now an overpriced , under maintained, place to avoid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Acqua Hotel Mill Valley, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. This is certainly not the kind or review I like reading; however, I appreciate you bringing these items to my attention, and have taken action on all the issues you mentioned. We have purchased extra refrigerators, so that if one goes bad it can be replaced immediately. I have spoken with the Operations Manager and Housekeeping Supervisor regarding carts being left in the hallway, this is unavoidable during the day when rooms are being serviced, but they should be stored at all other times, and normally are. We are in the process of replacing all of the carpets on the first floor with beautiful hardwood floors, as for the remaining carpets, a monthly cleaning process in place. Additionally, new sinks and hardware have been ordered for the entire hotel and are due early next year. I am not sure which manager you spoke with regarding a specific room choice, but we do everything we can to appreciate our loyal guests, I am sorry this was not the case during your last visit. Please contact me directly and I will personally assist with your next stay, and attempt to remedy the disappointments experienced on this last visit. Very kind regards, Eric Norman General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acqua Hotel Mill Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua Hotel Mill Valley

Address: 555 Redwood Highway, Mill Valley, CA 94941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by elements of sky and water, the Acqua Hotel in scenic Mill Valley, California, melds stylish city sophistication with the natural beauty which surrounds it. Our location on the edge of Richardson Bay offers dazzling water views against the backdrop of Mt. Tamalpais. Guest rooms are smart and simple with a Zen-like tranquility, inspiring views and all the amenities you need to make your stay perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Acqua Hotel Mill Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqua Resort Mill Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acqua Hotel Mill Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.