We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express at Mill Valley Inn prices” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941 (Formerly Tam Woods Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mill Valley
Castro Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express at Mill Valley Inn prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Make no mistake, this is a Holiday Inn Express. The rooms are comfortable enough and relatively quiet, except from the noise from the in-room A/C. If all you are looking for is a roadside motel, this will probably meet your needs. The problem is, it isn't represented as being a motel. From the description,you would expect a property more like the Mill Valley Inn. Worse, the prices are not all that much different. Do yourself a favor, drive a few miles into downtown Mill Valley and book a room there.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaGiles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. It is very important to myself and the hotel to ensure we are meeting our guest expectations - unfortunately based on your review I am not quite sure how we can improve our guest experience or services. I would appreciate if you could provide some more specific feedback so that we can address any issues that you may have encountered during your stay.

We do feel that we have and exceptional experience to offer our guests especially compared to other options in the area at the same price point. We have recently remodeled all of our guest rooms and a significant amount of our outdoor space. We provide a wide variety of complimentary amentities to all of our guests including smores by our fire pit, bike rentals to enjoy the scenic area, movie rentals and in-room DVD players, wireless internet, as well as an extensive breakfast including cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, breads and pastries, cereals, yogurts, coffee, tea and juices.

I look forward to your future comments so that I can sure the best stay for all future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    159
    52
    24
    12
See reviews for
112
143
21
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stay here whenever we are in the area and love it.
Great staff and location.
I work as a part-time travel agent and always suggest my customers go there.
Love the pool and jacuzzi area, which are kept spotless.
You can take a nice walk along the water after breakfast.
Make sure you stop by the front desk for shmores to cook at the fireplace in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a comfortable room. The grounds were nice but access to the walking path near the water was closed due to utility work. There were notices about rooms being remodeled which will be nice. Breakfast was ok. The big win was the location. It's close to Muir woods and has easy access to the city albeit we paid a toll crossing the golden gate into the city. There was not an additional fee for parking like many hotels charge in the city. It was nice to be close to the city and have some of the perks of being outside like less traffic and noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Clean, well appointed and very comfortable room. Front desk, check in associate was friendly, warm and provided welcome advice on how best to avoid weekend StinsonBeach/Muir Woods traffic and crowds. Good advice and most appreciated! Richardson Bay was practically outside our door and a lovely place for a walk, jog or offered bike ride. My husband loved the outdoor hot tub & salt water pool while I appreciated the comfortable seating in both sun or shade. Overall, a very nice facility that I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone traveling to the San Francisco area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were pleased with our experience at the Tam Woods Hotel. The rooms were clean and nice enough. The breakfast was good, and the hotel was convenient to Muir Woods and the Golden Gate Recreation Area. We particularly liked the outdoor fire and the Smores kits that the staff prepared for the guests. The price was a little high, but Tam Woods appeared to be one of the better options in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The good: Nice public areas, room nicely appointed; breakfast ok. Staff was friendly & helpful including special requests and attention after we spent a night at the hospital. Night clerk went out of her way to find some food for us when we returned at 5am.

The bad: At best the entrance to this hotel is difficult to find. But, the hotel changed names 2 days before we arrived at midnight. If we had not known the area we would have been totally lost!! They should have notified us of the name change via email. The hotel has actually changed names again since we were there.

The ugly: The noise between rooms was horrible. We had a room with a door for an adjoining room and we could hear every word, etc. all day & (worse) all night.

Room Tip: Ask for non-adjoining room!! Rooms on south and west side are away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent four nights at the Tams Woods Hotel and were very pleased. It is located a short distance past the Golden Gate bridge off 101 North so very convenient to tour wine country, San Francisco, Sausalito, Tiburon, etc. The staff was very accommodating. They are in the process of updating all their rooms. We were told that this would become a Holiday Inn in December. The parking was free, the breakfast was good and we enjoyed smores around the fire pit. Many guests took advantage of the free bikes to use on the nearby bike trails. There is a good Italian restaurant next door and across the street the wonderful Buckeye Restaurant. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Some rooms are smaller than others. Our friends has a pool facing room that was larger than our mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaGiles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for bringing your family to the Mill Valley area and to the Tam Woods Hotel. I truly appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of doing updates to the rooms and hotel (though there has already been several wonderful upgrades in the past two years as well). We are very excited during this short transition period and look forward to having you back soon to enjoy each new edition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

Address: 160 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941 (Formerly Tam Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What will you do today in Mill Valley? Each day is a new adventure at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley, located in scenic Marin County. Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area sits against a breathtaking backdrop near the base of Mount Tamalpais, overlooking peaceful wetlands and bike paths. Natural beauty shines in our Mill Valley hotel, which grants access to some of Northern California’s most visited attractions including the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco, and the renowned Napa Valley wine country. After an adventurous day exploring the bustling city of San Francisco or the beautiful outdoors of Marin County, relax by the outdoor pool under a private cabana. Borrow a bike from our Bike Center and pedal along the nearby bike paths or roast marshmallows around our outdoor fire pit. Or stay in with the family and watch a DVD from our movie library in one of our newly redesigned guestrooms. Featuring modern, convenient and thoughtful services and amenities designed to keep you comfortable, well rested and entertained, Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area provides the ideal home base for those looking to experience the vast playground that is the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sausalito
Holiday Inn Mill Valley
Mill Valley Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.