We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, view, location, service, breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941 (Formerly Tam Woods Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Mill Valley
Torrance
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great rooms, view, location, service, breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stay here whenever we are in the area and love it.
Great staff and location.
I work as a part-time travel agent and always suggest my customers go there.
Love the pool and jacuzzi area, which are kept spotless.
You can take a nice walk along the water after breakfast.
Make sure you stop by the front desk for shmores to cook at the fireplace in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    150
    46
    23
    12
See reviews for
106
135
21
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a comfortable room. The grounds were nice but access to the walking path near the water was closed due to utility work. There were notices about rooms being remodeled which will be nice. Breakfast was ok. The big win was the location. It's close to Muir woods and has easy access to the city albeit we paid a toll crossing the golden gate into the city. There was not an additional fee for parking like many hotels charge in the city. It was nice to be close to the city and have some of the perks of being outside like less traffic and noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Clean, well appointed and very comfortable room. Front desk, check in associate was friendly, warm and provided welcome advice on how best to avoid weekend StinsonBeach/Muir Woods traffic and crowds. Good advice and most appreciated! Richardson Bay was practically outside our door and a lovely place for a walk, jog or offered bike ride. My husband loved the outdoor hot tub & salt water pool while I appreciated the comfortable seating in both sun or shade. Overall, a very nice facility that I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone traveling to the San Francisco area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were pleased with our experience at the Tam Woods Hotel. The rooms were clean and nice enough. The breakfast was good, and the hotel was convenient to Muir Woods and the Golden Gate Recreation Area. We particularly liked the outdoor fire and the Smores kits that the staff prepared for the guests. The price was a little high, but Tam Woods appeared to be one of the better options in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The good: Nice public areas, room nicely appointed; breakfast ok. Staff was friendly & helpful including special requests and attention after we spent a night at the hospital. Night clerk went out of her way to find some food for us when we returned at 5am.

The bad: At best the entrance to this hotel is difficult to find. But, the hotel changed names 2 days before we arrived at midnight. If we had not known the area we would have been totally lost!! They should have notified us of the name change via email. The hotel has actually changed names again since we were there.

The ugly: The noise between rooms was horrible. We had a room with a door for an adjoining room and we could hear every word, etc. all day & (worse) all night.

Room Tip: Ask for non-adjoining room!! Rooms on south and west side are away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent four nights at the Tams Woods Hotel and were very pleased. It is located a short distance past the Golden Gate bridge off 101 North so very convenient to tour wine country, San Francisco, Sausalito, Tiburon, etc. The staff was very accommodating. They are in the process of updating all their rooms. We were told that this would become a Holiday Inn in December. The parking was free, the breakfast was good and we enjoyed smores around the fire pit. Many guests took advantage of the free bikes to use on the nearby bike trails. There is a good Italian restaurant next door and across the street the wonderful Buckeye Restaurant. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Some rooms are smaller than others. Our friends has a pool facing room that was larger than our mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaGiles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for bringing your family to the Mill Valley area and to the Tam Woods Hotel. I truly appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of doing updates to the rooms and hotel (though there has already been several wonderful upgrades in the past two years as well). We are very excited during this short transition period and look forward to having you back soon to enjoy each new edition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was recommended by a cousin instead of staying in the city. The staff is very nice and so is the breakfast. The room was awful. The bathroom was small and the exhaust fan was so loud. The carpeting was dark and nasty. The linens are low quality so not smooth. Well we just didn't like the place. It is kind in a strange place to find but borders on water and trail. That is nice. Next door is a very good restaurant....forgot the name. The drive from there into San Fran is very easy. O

Room Tip: Some renovation of rooms was starting
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaGiles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am very dissapointed to find that we were unable to meet your expectations. I will be promptly inspecting the room you were in to ensure it is up to standards as what you describe is not. We are also in the process of some room renovations which will include new carpet, new wall vinyl, new bathroom fans, etc. New bedding has just been put in in the past few weeks and all other items in the room have been replaced in the last two years. We will also see some other exciting changes such as new additions to breakfast such as pancakes, cinnamon rolls, and other hot items. Again, I do appreciate your time to comment and hope that we may see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

Address: 160 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941 (Formerly Tam Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What will you do today in Mill Valley? Each day is a new adventure at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley, located in scenic Marin County. Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area sits against a breathtaking backdrop near the base of Mount Tamalpais, overlooking peaceful wetlands and bike paths. Natural beauty shines in our Mill Valley hotel, which grants access to some of Northern California’s most visited attractions including the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco, and the renowned Napa Valley wine country. After an adventurous day exploring the bustling city of San Francisco or the beautiful outdoors of Marin County, relax by the outdoor pool under a private cabana. Borrow a bike from our Bike Center and pedal along the nearby bike paths or roast marshmallows around our outdoor fire pit. Or stay in with the family and watch a DVD from our movie library in one of our newly redesigned guestrooms. Featuring modern, convenient and thoughtful services and amenities designed to keep you comfortable, well rested and entertained, Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area provides the ideal home base for those looking to experience the vast playground that is the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sausalito
Holiday Inn Mill Valley
Mill Valley Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.