We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven In The Clutter!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamalpais Motel

Save Saved
You added Tamalpais Motel to your Saves list
Tamalpais Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamalpais Motel
680 Redwood Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Mill Valley
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Haven In The Clutter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

When I see the negative reviews on this hotel I am baffled! As someone from a much smaller city, California was mind blowingly rude as a state, expensive and just... too much! That being said, this motel was in a very nice area with an incredibly polite staff. The room is so clean and decorated beautifully. True there was no coffee pot or the trivial hair dryer but it came with a fridge and large windows to let in the cool breeze coming off the mountains. All of this for cheaper than the dumps in the ghetto of San Francisco! These people have a gold mine and yet they are simple and polite. Listening to anything negative about this place is probably a mistake seeing as anyone who doesn't enjoy this haven is probably on of the upright and pretentious jerks who occupy the state!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
7
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room was large and clean, but lacked certain necessities commonly found in motel rooms: the absense of an alarm clock was an eybrow raiser, as was the lack of any type of table in the room, followed by absolutely no shelving or countertops in the bathroom (inlcuding shower stall), and only one hook in there for clothes; a gap under the front door shed light across the floor every time a car came into the lot and a strong breeze frequently blew in. However, the bed was incredibly comfortable (not so for the pillows), staff accomodating, and though it's right across from the freeway, it was was quite quiet. Price seemed a bit steep for what was offered, but it was a holiday weekend and we needed a place, so shame on us for last minute trip planning

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

What we needed was a clean place to sleep for our family after attending a wedding in nearby Mill Valley. The Motel was 10 minutes from our event, and the rooms and bathrooms were very clean! The beds were quite comfortable. The office person was extremely courteous and went out of her way to accommodate us after we realized that we made an error in our reservation. We needed medical attention after hours and she directed us to the nearest ER. Friendly, helpful, clean and comfortable...everything we needed and got! Thank you Tamalpais Motel. You're the best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My thought on travel is you only spend a small amout of time in your hotel room. At least you shoud as you are there for the ventures outside the hotel. I have stayed in this location 5 times in 2013 as I participate in various sporting events in the Bay Area. The location is perfect as only 12 minutes from downtown San Francisco. The price is almost 1/3 of the cost of hotels in San Francisco. I laugh at the last review person about sleeping in her car, it reminds me of the story about the "Princess and the Pea" A nice addition is the nursery next door to the hotel. It is like an enchanted garden where you can wander around for hours enjoying the unique plants. The owners have always attended to my service requests. The showers work, the toliets flush, the flat screens are new, the fans in the room gently whirl you to sleep, the beds and pillows are fine (better than the reclined hard seat of a car)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

this is possibly the the worst motel in the world! The room was covered in urine and smelt that bad I had to sleep in my car. The bathroom was filthy, The toilet and shower were unusable and the sheets on the bed looked like they hadn't been changed in a long time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Read the trip advisor comments on this place while I was in the room. My room seemed to be fairly clean although very small. Did not meet any of the former occupants of the bed although had a good look. One of those places that you find and need in a hurry and then move on

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Good points: previously reported bedbug problem apparently resolved. Good king size bed in room, relatively recent. Staff friendly enough, allowing inspection of room prior to letting, and forewarning of no ac.

Bad points: questionable stains and material on bathroom door frame and on painted walls next to sink says hygiene may still be an issue, but no hair in drains as previously reported. Overwhelming smell of bleach, which may be comforting to some. Room too small and no ac. Toilet seat loose. Door locks not up to standard.

Overall an ok last minute place to stay, with the cheapest price in the area, but would advise attempting to book elsewhere first.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamalpais Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamalpais Motel

Address: 680 Redwood Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tamalpais Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamalpais Hotel Mill Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamalpais Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.