We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   155 Shoreline Highway, Mill Valley, CA 94941   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Mill Valley
Weyburn, Canada
1 review
“Not great place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The price for 3 nites was $267 which was good and it was close to where we had to be. The pics looked OK on line which was how I booked. Big disappointment when I walked in, walls dirty, comforter on beds soiled and raggy. Mattress very soft, doesn't look like anything kept up, very outdated. Bathroom reasonably clean but could not get tap in tub to run without showerhead running at the same time. Flat screen tv on wall but had to get batteries replace in remote before it worked. Telephone did not work, just a fuzzy dial tone, no phone book in room or information on surrounding area amenities. Management not very helpful and did not speak english well. Had a microwave and fridge which was good. Also free wifi, continental breakfast, just basics and bad coffee. No sound proofing in ceiling so lots of noise from room above us. If you are just looking for a place to spend one night, it would work but after that it is pretty terrible.

Room Tip: Don't always believe the hotel is the same as the pics that are posted online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    13
    10
    21
See reviews for
14
23
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Bad. When I arrived, they said, "It's $149 a night." (I didn't have a reservation.) I said, "It's only $95 online!" But the desk clerk refused come down on the price, so I said, "Fine, I'll go book the room from my phone." She immediately changed her tone, "No no no, $95 is fine." I should have known right then that nothing would be above board. The curtains were ripped and I had to pin them closed with my hair clips. I later asked the manager, "Did you know the curtains were ripped?" He did, but he didn't care. He didn't even look up from his phone. Also, tub didn't work, carpet was sticky and stained and melted in spots, room reeked of smoke, fridge didn't work, all the lights had compact fluorescent bulbs in a nightmarish green. Coffee machine didn't work at breakfast. It's Mill Valley, yes, but it's right on the freeway, with incessant traffic noise and a view of a parking lot. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Getting in and out of parking lot is hard with all the traffic. Whatever you do, don't try to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The young lady at the reception was very helpful to someone who does't know the secrets of a washing machine. The hotel was very convenient for San Francisco which was what I required. The room was very large, quiet and clean. The shower needed some clean up work done it No coffee facilities. Overall a clean, convenient hotel and a very reasonable price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We paid $419.32 for two nights. Only place available and they gouged the price. The room was terrible. The drapes were broken and wouldn't close (they had to bring safety pins to close them) the lamp socket was broken off with exposed "hot" wiring, they had to bring another lamp, The switch was borken in the closet leaving it dark. They couldn't fix that. The TV didn't work. The back door just had one latch making you feel unsafe. They didn't even have a ball point pen or a box of kleenex in the room. The manager came out of his quarters (after hitting the bell a dozen times) with feathers or fuzz stuck to his sweater. Smelled like Indian cooking coming from the room. His daughter tried to appease us by trying to correct the problems but it was to no avail. The rear parking lot had garbage and trash tossed all over the place. This place is a real dump. I will never stay at any of this chain's motels.........ever........I'll sleep in the car before I do that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This motel offers value for money close to San Francisco's Golde Gate Bridge. The location is some way out of down town but within walking distance there are a couple of places to eat - one opposite and some about 1km west down the road (despite first appearances, we would recommendand the Chinese). There's a pleasant view of the lagoon from the (upstairs) rooms.

The room was very large with good facilities. However the check-in and "welcome" was minimalist and somewhat kirt (though they were quick to respond to a minor query about the room later). Specifically they didn't point out that there were 2 doors to the room and the key they had given us was for the back one only (we met another guest who had the same confusing experience). Breakfast was about as minimalist as the welcome and served in the exteremly small reception but was complimentary and filled a gap.

Overall for this price, this close to San Francisco (half hour drive from airport), I would say it offers good value for money but dont expect too much.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We made reservations here based on the good reviews posted by other guests. Unfortunately our experience was much different.

The property looks to have been recently purchased as its previous name (The Fountain) is more prominently displayed and made it easy to drive by missing it completely. The hotel's photograph on this page is taken from an angle that hides the former name which left us wondering if this was the right place.

Our room didn't have air conditioning. Owner said the property description never said it did. Turns out that is true but it's not our expectation to have to ask if it does, especially when the room costs upward of $120 a night. The room did have an electric fan though.

The room has two entrances - one from the front parking lot and the other from the rear parking lot. The lock on the rear door appeared to have been recently jimmied or forced open. We didn't feel particularly safe after noticing that, but it was especially worrisome since we'd have to leave the front window open to get air which isn't something we felt would be safe to do given the busy road in front of the hotel with much traffic. In any event, leaving the window open would make sleeping difficult due to the traffic noise.

Bottom line is that this property didn't measure up to other properties in the chain.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed June 3rd in America's Best Value Inn & Suites. The following day we left for Los Angeles leaving my wallet behind with driver's license and credit card and other important cards. The owners of AMBI were extremely kind and searched both rooms for wallet and went out of their way to send it expedited to LA at no cost to us. When we tried to refund money along with tip, they kindly refused the money and let us know that they were glad they could help and get it to us with time. Rooms are very large and were perfect for children to have freedom to walk/run around without disturbing neighbors. One room had front and back entrance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites
Americas Best Value Hotel Mill Valley
Address: 155 Shoreline Highway, Mill Valley, CA 94941
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.