We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to visit but not for long....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muir Woods National Monument

Muir Woods National Monument
Highway 101, Mill Valley, CA 94941
(415) 388-2595
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Muir Woods National Monument like an insider
Special Offer
$102*
and up
San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine...
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Mill Valley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Walking, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Muir Woods has a rich and varied history, from its use by the Coast Miwok people, to its early days of tourism and the Mount Tamalpais Mill Valley Scenic Railway, to an era of conservation, to modern preservation. In each era, the forest has been affected by the actions of humans, for better or for worse.Part of the Golden Gate National Recreation Area, this coastal redwood preserve features majestic redwoods and scenic hiking trails that draw more than 1.5 million visitors each year.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great to visit but not for long....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I really enjoyed our visit to Muir Woods because the trees are so unique and overwhelmingly massive! Plus - they just look great. Having said that, the park is very small and it takes some time to get there. After about the 20th tree, everything looks the same. So would I visit if i've never been? Absolutely. Would I go for the second time? Probably not. Just a great sight to see for the first time.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,988
    519
    79
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“muir woods sparkles in showers and sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Last February I hiked Muir Woods with my brother on a classic
winter day in the Bay Area -- showers alternating with sun.
The rain did not dampen the experience, perhaps enhanced it,
because the towering trees had strings of droplets. The forest
felt fresh. The paths were passable at various inclines despite
the rain. If one likes nature and were to visit the Bay Area,
Muir Woods is an essential sight. This time we drove, but
I recall taking public transit to get nearby.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altanta ga
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Interesting Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We drove to Muir Woods and took a stroll in the forrest. The day was cool and drizzly...so that did not help. The trees are beautiful....and the park is very nice. We were ready to head out in under 2 hours. Glad we went, but not awestruck like some of the other reviewers! The drive up there was fine too. You don't need a tour bus to visit Muir!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk to enjoy nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A great get away from the office and hustle bustle of the city. The walk is wonderful. A chance to smell fresh air and enjoy nature at its work. The fee is very minimal compare to the maximum benefit of providing your walking exercise and increasing your love for nature.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must on a visit to San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of San Francisco for the day then this is the place to go. Peace and tranquility within in the majestic giant Redwoods. Its so peaceful in the presence of the forest. A highlight of our trip and not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muir Woods National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Muir Woods National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muir Woods National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.