We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Valley Inn

Save Saved
You added Mill Valley Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mill Valley Inn
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   165 Throckmorton Ave., Mill Valley, CA 94941   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Mill Valley
Longview, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at Mill Valley Inn while we were in Mill Valley for our granddaughter's first birthday. Its location was ideal! We were within walking distance of our daughter and son-in-law's home, and steps away from all the wonderful restaurants, coffee shops, stores, markets, church and theaters. On entering the Inn, there's a feeling of peace and tranquility, from our warm greeting by Yvonne, to the charming, comfortable accommodations. We had a lovely room with 2 very comfortable queen beds for my husband and myself, and one of our daughters. The room had French doors opening to a small balcony, and a relaxing chair & ottoman. I felt like I was in a quaint, boutique hotel in Europe. Along with the impeccably clean room, there was a great selection of bath amenities. We never saw our housekeeper, but our room was always meticulous and restocked when we returned. A special delight was the late afternoon wine and fruit, cheese and crackers; and the morning breakfast buffet was outstanding! We especially appreciated the perfect espressos and cappuccinos made by Evelio. He and the other staff persons maintained the buffet tables and kept them well stocked. All of the staff went out of their way to be sure our needs were met. The room rates may seem higher than in some of the more commercial hotels, but when you figure the breakfasts, evening wine/beverage hospitality, the free use of bicycles into the equation, coupled with the service, hospitality and charm of the Mill Valley Inn, it would be hard to beat!

Room Tip: Loved room 6, but hate to share that info because I'd want it available in the future! I liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    46
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
93
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Mill Valley Inn for three days while attending an event at the Throckmorton Theater. The hotel is located right across the street from the theater and many nice restaurants and stores are within walking distance from the Inn which was all very convenient. The hotel is small and there is a quaint, small town feel to the whole experience of staying there. The rooms are decorated with lovely, high quality furniture that give a historical “feel” to the rooms. The Mill Valley Inn is like a small, quaint hotel tucked away somewhere in Europe. The hotel staff was wonderful. Paul, at the front reception desk, was a delightfully warm and friendly person. Paul surprised me with a bouquet of beautiful flowers on behalf of the entire staff as I was celebrating my 60th birthday during my stay. The breakfasts are buffet-style and Evelio who takes care of the breakfasts was such a nice man. Evelio was very professional and friendly and he went out of his way each morning to greet guests and offer us gourmet coffee and breakfast treats. The entire staff made me feel like a member of the family during my stay. The rooms are a little pricey, however, especially considering the additional taxes that are added to the room rate for each night. I highly recommend the Mill Valley Inn for anyone wishing to have a nice, relaxing time in downtown Mill Valley.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This quaint Inn offers surprises at every turn. We have stayed both in a private cottage and a room with fireplace. Both were tops - with our favorite being the cottage. Walking back between the tall redwoods, along a small babbling brook to our door was spectacular. To fall asleep with the fire burning…was a romantic, calming ending to the day. Free breakfast daily - nice. Staff - very friendly & accommodating. They really went out of their way to be sure everything was meeting our needs. The surrounding town felt so special. Like going back in time….quite charming. Would highly recommend. We definitely will be returning if we have the opportunity. We would look no further for accommodations.

Room Tip: Go for a cottage. Quiet, private, and surrounded by nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

My husband and I started traveling to the west coast in the late 1980's when my husband's brother moved to Mill Valley, California. We usually visit two or three times a year. We tried almost every hotel in the area until we found the Mill Valley Inn at the outer edge of downtown Mill Valley. Once we found this charming boutique hotel, we knew our search for a home away from home was over. Now we never stay anyplace else. If the Inn is booked or if our favorite rooms are not available for our desired weekend, we just change our schedule. I've noticed that other reviewers have already elaborated on the Inns main assets... clean, comfortable rooms with loads of character looking out at magnificent red wood trees, ample breakfast choices, wine and cheese hour, complimentary use of brand new Trek bikes, beautiful places to hike and great shopping right outside your door. But for us, the Mill Valley Inn's best asset is the staff. If you wish for something, just let it be known and Paul (he's amazing!!!), Will, Justin, Ivanka or Yvonne will make it happen. We love this place, and through the years it just gets better and better.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Breakfast was amazing, location was convenient(near the center of town, but not on a noisy street, decor was pretty. Only area for improvement was to run the decorative pillows and throws through the dryer as the velvet attracts dust. Service nice also. Yes it is an old motel, but well done so you cannot tell from the inside.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Wow! What a wonderful find in Mill Valley, CA. We had such a bad day before checking out this wonderful hotel and I was welcomed with open arms, so we ended up staying. The staff, especially Paul, really made my day. He was so polite, courteous and wonderful! Wish we could have a Paul at every hotel we visit. Our room was so nice and inviting!! Didn't want to leave. The scenery is so lush and gorgeous on the property. Loved the wine and cheese reception at night and got to talk to alot of nice fellow travelers that we also got to see at the wonderful breakfast with an amazing view. The hotel is also within walking distance to the newly opened Sweetwater Music Hall, which was such a big bonus! Also alot of nice shops and resturants nearby. Please check out this beauty and ask for Paul, he is awesome!

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

At the end of a day trip through the beautiful Marin county and Oyster country, we walked in this Mill Valley B&B without any reservations and we were pleasantly surprised. The lady at the front desk (Yvonne) was very welcoming and helped us settle in and find some late night dinner options. We stayed at the far side of the creek house and really loved the private location and the views.

The buffet style breakfast was quite a treat in the morning with a nice selection of food and espresso drinks. Overall, an amazing stay and highly recommended for taking a break from the hotels and for a taste of hospitality from a mountain-side B&B.

Room Tip: Go with the Creekhouse! They are more private and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Valley Inn

Address: 165 Throckmorton Ave., Mill Valley, CA 94941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mill Valley Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill Valley Inn is the one and only hotel in downtown Mill Valley. This intimate property is tucked away in a redwood grove at the foot of majestic Mt. Tamalpais. Just steps away from the bustling town plaza, guests of Mill Valley Inn enjoy convenient access to galleries, fine restaurants, boutiques and theaters, as well as close proximity to the many hikes and scenic vistas that Mt. Tamalpias has to offer. Mill Valley Inn combines the sophistication of a small European hotel with the cozy charm of a historic California mill town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Mill Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Valley Hotel Mill Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.