We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Rustic Cafe'/Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Des Amis

Cafe Des Amis
4 Washington Buildings, Penarth CF64 2AD, Wales
029 2070 9600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 54 Restaurants in Penarth
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: French, British, Welsh
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bridgend
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice little Rustic Cafe'/Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I go to Penarth most Thursdays for shopping and this week decided to eat here after reading the reviews,I was not dissapointed the fresh homemade soup i had to start was excellent and i also enjoyed my Whitebait dish after it,i was also pleased that i could have Green Tea.
The young lady who served me was polite and professional.
A very good selection of dishes were on offer.
A very good place for people watching.
I will return!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    2
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous French feast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A cute this restaurant with French themes running throughout. Good menu selection and food very enjoyable and good value for money.
The staff were delightful and went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed without being intrusive.
Thoroughly recommended and looks like it would be well worth a visit during the day even just for coffee.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
historian
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best in Penarth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

There are quite a few restaurants in the centre of Penarth but this is without doubt the one where you can find the best food and at a fair price. The ambiance is certainly reminiscent of a French bistro and the atmosphere is warm. All this is thanks to the proprietor and manager, a most charming lady who spent years living in France. The cooking is wholesome, stylish and very tasty and delivers on flavour and satisfaction whether you are looking for French or British cuisine (including the breakfasts). The chef here is experienced, skilled and reliable. The choice of wines is not extensive but the ones they do have are very good. Go on, try it, you won't be disappointed and you'll want to go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I live in France and had the good luck to discover this place. What a find! It really is a charming family-run restaurant. A warm welcome and a great atmosphere. We dined well and the only drawback was not being able to stay on and try the deserts. Café des Amis styles itself as a French bistro and it hits the nail on the head. Next time I'm in Penarth I'll be back - there are a few such so-called bistros in France that could learn from this place. Bien fait!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a great little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I had 30 minutes to kill int he monring before a meeting and popped in for a coffee and a bit of breakfast. The point of the review is that they were not fully open and ready and pushed for time gettin the sandwich round on the road - despte that, they still made a gorgeous sausage baguette. That might be simple, but anoyone who spends the time to get the simple stuff right and serve it with a smile despite not being prepared and fully open offers great attention to detail in my book. And we'll be back to taste the full delights.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Des Amis also viewed

Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Cafe Des Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Des Amis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.