We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fig Tree

The Fig Tree
The Esplanade, Penarth CF64 3AU, Wales
+44 29 2070 2512
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 54 Restaurants in Penarth
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Award Winning Independent Restaurant, Owner Managed, Affordable Fresh Food. Everything prepared and cooked on site. Local free Range & Organic Meat, Fresh Sustainable Wild Fish, Local Seasonal vegetables. Great Views, Relaxed Atmosphere, Friendly Staff. All in this wonderful Victorian former beach shelter & life boat station.We welcome those with special dietary requirementsGold winner of Wales True Taste Best Restaurant in Wales 2012/13We look forward to seeing you at The Fig Tree. Mike & Sandie
Salisbury
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced, overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A lovely view over Penarth Pier makes for a lovely setting for this pleasant, clean and inviting restaurant. However, service is extremely slow; even with a booking we had to wait almost half an hour for a table. Servers are polite but not overly helpful or friendly (with one exception of an extremely good female server at the very end of our dinner), and when a complaint was made about a dish we were made to feel like we were in the wrong.

Most of the table ordered the fish starter. Two were very nice, but one had a huge amount of bones and was effectively inedible. When this was inquired about we were told that the fish are not de-boned and I should "accept a tickly feeling in the throat". We were happy to accept that a fish dish could have bones, but the extent of this was beyond acceptable. Perhaps a warning on the menu is in order here.

The rest of the food was very good, but not outstanding. I and the rest of the party agreed we had eaten better for less elsewhere in Penarth and Cardiff. I feel that here you pay for the grand setting and the view more than you pay for the food and experience, but there is better food for less along the seafront in Penarth with the same views in my opinion.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    100
    42
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
1 review
“Highly recommended !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Visited figtree on the weekend with couple of friends from London ..we all loved the restaurant we sat on the balcony the beautiful views got complete with the excellent meal we ordered. The food felt very fresh and the vegetarian selection was amazing.The service was polite too.Being a chef by profession I would recommend this restaurant to all who love good food..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welsh Borders, UK
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Patchy cooking, hopeless service, nice day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Six of us came for lunch on a sunny Sunday, in a sunny mood. We were quickly shown to our table and given menus. It was a day for fish, so, apart from our vegetarian daughter, we ordered hake. Three of us started with mussels, two with melon and one with chicken salad. We ordered prosecco to bolster our mood and Muscadet with the fish. The bubbly soon arrived and the glasses clinked. Then we waited. No bread or nibbles to line the empty tums. Half an hour later, a server came with a spoon and asked who was having the mussels. Three of us put up our hands, and she ran off. Ten minutes later, she returned with two more spoons, but no food. I asked a waiter to go to the kitchen and find it. He did, and returned to say it wouldn't be long. No-one, no staff that is, seemed in the least concerned that after an hour, they had not managed to serve any food. They all seemed blissfully unaware throughout, that they were there for service. In desperation, we asked for bread, and it came, shortly followed by our starters. The mussels were slightly underdone, but open and with good liquor, the melon was a cobbled together dish of chopped bits with feta and the chicken very ordinary. Then we waited. At 3 o'clock by now, I again asked the waiter to go to the kitchen. He returned to say that our mains were being plated, but that would take another 15 minutes. So could he please bring along our wine? Wine? The waitress who had taken our order overheard and told him about it. It came. The good news is that the hake was delicious, served with a mountain of new potatoes and dishes of steamed vegetables. We declined deserts (didn't want to stay for dinner). When the bill didn't come, I went to the till and paid. Had the meal been good, the bill at (£147 for 6 of us) would have seemed very fair.
This restaurant badly needs management.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Figging Love It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a lunch here with friends and just have to say that it was absolutely perfect. The lunch thus began which required a great Merlot, home breads and olives. My starter of asparagus with lemon and butter were incredible and my mains of carmarthenshire lamb was cooked beautifully. Took on the cheeseboard and heaven sighed. It really doesn't get any better than this. The waiting staff were attentive and very helpful in their attention to the menu read out. It was a fine lunch, filled with sunshine and with wonderful views across the channel, will certainly be back very soon, maybe next week.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A welcome return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A couple of months ago we visited this restaurant and were not happpy witht he quality of food they served, we pointed this out to the management who gave us a discount voucher hoping we would rerurn.

So three months later we went, what a big difference.

The staff and the ambience were still the same very welcoming and the atmosphere in the restaurant is relaxing and conducive to a relaxing evening with friends and the view across to the sea.

The food was a hundred percent better, two of us had the same dish as on the previous occasion and what a joy to eat it, it was cooked to perfection and presented as a first class restaurant should present their food.

Prices may be a little too high but the quality of the food justifies it.

Please keep the sam standards and I am sure more people will visit, we will certainly be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fig Tree also viewed

Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Fig Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fig Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.