We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pant Yr Ochan

Pant Yr Ochan
Old Wrexham Road, Gresford LL12 8TY, Wales
01978 853 525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Gresford
Price range: $61 - $61
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have eaten here many times over the last couple of years and always had good service and lovely food ! It can get busy at times and especially at weekends but the service has always been efficient and professional. Food offerings are plentiful and at reasonable prices for what you get !

The only downside that we have experienced is that the heating is not the best on a cold winters day and on our last visit we ended up having to put our coats back on !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    86
    48
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“40 Years of Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My first visit was as a wedding guest in 1972. Over the years it has become my favourite local restaurant and not just for its always delicious food choices from an extensive and varied menu. They have retained the essence of the old country house it once was and in the summer it is next to heaven for outdoor dining on immaculate lawns within stunning grounds overlooking a natural, duck inhabited pond..Whatever it is about the ambiance of the place it is wonderful for children - I've never yet seen one misbehaving - parental bliss! The staff obviously love working there as much as we diners enjoy their efficient and friendly company and even when eating there on my own I am happily content - a 10 star dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great place for afternoon lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

i come here nearly every week now, i would almost consider myself a regular, great staff, great open fires and a good menu, can be a little on the over priced though,probably the best place in wrexham to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Went here recently for two of my friends birthday lunch.The restaurant was a bit cold and we moved into the conservatory. The service was good, but the food was ricey for the main courses and lighter bites were not good value either.There was no offers available, or lunch time discounts. It is in a lovely postion with great views, but the price lets it down.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“'Exceptionally good food'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

For honest quality food with a home cooked feel about it, then this can't be beaten. Clever menu choices which mean that you decide how much you want to spend - light bites can be quite filling and the children's menu doen't cater merely for children but for those with a smaller appetite as well. Friendly staff, great atmosphere - highly recommended!!!
Tip - for a more intimate meal ask for The Nook - seats about 6 but cosy for 2!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pant Yr Ochan also viewed

Erbistock, Wrexham County
Mold, Flintshire
 
Llangollen, Denbighshire
 

Been to Pant Yr Ochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pant Yr Ochan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.