We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay in a magnificent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Portmeirion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Portmeirion to your Saves list
Hotel Portmeirion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Minffordd, Penrhyndeudraeth LL48 6ER, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An excellent stay in a magnificent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were visiting Portmeirion for two days of concerts and workshops on the site with band "Show of Hands". Our room was excellent, with a lovely view of the estuary and complementary sherry. We had both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, both of which were top class. The buffets provided for the events were also of really high quality.

The staff at every level could not have been more helpful.

The setting is magical and the interiors of the hotel homely and welcoming.

The hotel isn't cheap however, so for most people it would be a "treat" rather than a casual purchase, I should imagine.

We were there out of season of course, and I imagine Portmeirion is very different and busy in the summer, so the hotel won't be as quiet as it was for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    173
    54
    20
    9
See reviews for
125
548
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Llandyrnog, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

After great previous experiences, we wanted to share it with our great friends & weren't let down at all. Had wonderful food & walks in a fantastic setting. The staff are really helpful, particularly in the hotels (some of he shops can be a little acorn antiques, but that can be charming too!)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the gate we were welcomed by the super staff. Nothing was to much trouble for them. We stoped for three nights. We were in room 4 with a super view over the sea and the mountains beyond. There was a log fire burning in the room at the bottom of the stairs. The food was to die for and like the rest of the staff the resturant staff were excellent.
The whole three days were relaxing and we were spoilt rotten. This hotel is not cheap but you do get what you pay for. Portmeirion is a special place and we will return.

Room Tip: You pay for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We had stayed in a village room before we had our children and so we knew what a great place Portmeirion is, it was great to return with our children and share the magic with them.

We stayed in the self catering cottage 'Dolphin' for four nights in Half Term. Although its self catering we were extremely impressed with the standards of furnishing and the lovely hotel towels and bedding made us feel very at home. The dolphin has views over both the estuary and the village, fantastic to wake up to amazing sunrises every morning, the light changes all the time and we took some amazing photos.

The Prisoner channel on the TV was a nice touch, our children (12 and 17) had never watched it, but came home saying they want a box set for Christmas! They also left two very interesting books which were well worth a read.

The kitchen was well equipped with all the tools I could think off. Not a very big fridge with just a small ice box, they say you can order from Tesco direct and they will put your stuff away before you arrive but glad I didn't do that because I would have run out of space! Quite a small oven/grill but I managed to do a roast which we ate watching the sun go down over the estuary.

The heating was a bit uncontrollable which only bothered my Husband! So nothing negative to say, it's a magical place, the staff were all very helpful and polite, we will definitely be staying again... Be seeing you!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

had the most fantastic 3 days staying at the castell deudreaeth, 22-24.10.12. we had been booked into room9 which turned out to be more of a suite with a lounge area, huge bedroom and a bathroom in the turrett. amazing. great views all round, food superb, staff brilliant. we ate in the castell on the first night then in the hotel on the second (there is a courtesy mini-bus around the village for hotel and castell guests). food amazing in the hotel but much preferred eating in the castell-less formal and a younger crowd! big thank you to the lovely housekeeper rhian who posted my forgotten clothing back to me the day after we left. will definately return!

Room Tip: ask for room 9 in the castell, its the only one in the turrett.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful evening at the Port Meirion Hotel in Wales. It really is like a fairy tale. We were blessed with the most beautiful sunny weather which certainly added to our joy. Wandering around the gardens with the different coloured apartments was just too lovely. We also took a trip on the little train through the forest and then wandered through the shops and just had a most enjoyable afternoon. We stayed in the Peacock suite,which, although quite pricey, was worth the extra as it was like going back in time. The lounge area is most fascinating, with elegrant furniture and lots of space. The huge bed was a once off experience that we will not forget easily. Lying in bed and watching the estuary through the window made the morning even more exciting. We enjoyed a delicious dinner and breakfast in the morning and were sad to leave. Just a small mention. The entrance to the reception seemed coldly uninviting. Perhaps a huge bouquet of flowers as you enter may soften the approach, but this is just my opinion. My husband thought it was fine. If you ever go the Port Meirion, please treat yourself to a stay at this hotel. It is so peaceful in the evenings and early morning. Do yourself a favour. Enjoy it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Peacock suite but I am sure room 1 and 2 are just as lovely, as well as others. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Firstly I was impressed by the courteous and efficient manner that my booking was handled. If the stay was to be measured by this we were in for a good experience.
We arrived at about 1600 hrs of 9.10.2012 and we were met by the courteous receptionist I had spoken to on the phone. We were booked in and our luggage taken by a porter to our room at the top of the building. A very pleasant room, light and airy, with a super view over the estuary. Lots of drawers and hanging space in the furniture.
After a walk around the village, which is really unbelievable in its Italianate complexity, we went down for dinner.
What a super experience this was. After a drink in the bar we were shown to a table by the window, again with a view over the estuary. The three course meal was excellent, served with precision and courtesy.
Breakfast was just as acceptable - a full Welsh sets you up for the day !!
Recommended - definitely a 'do again'.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a good view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Portmeirion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portmeirion

Address: Minffordd, Penrhyndeudraeth LL48 6ER, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Penrhyndeudraeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penrhyndeudrae...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portmeirion 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Portmeirion is a romantic seaside resort on the coast of Snowdonia in Wales. It was opened by Clough Williams-Ellis in 1926. Noel Coward wrote Blithe Spirit here in 1941. Patrick McGoohan filmed The Prisoner here in 1966-67. From 13-15 September 2013 Portmeirion will once again host Festival No6, a unique celebration of arts and music. Portmeirion is open every day all year and is suitable for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Portmeirion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Portmeirion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.