We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Overnight Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brynllydan Country Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brynllydan Country Guest House to your Saves list
Brynllydan Country Guest House
Llanfrothen, Penrhyndeudraeth LL48 6DU, Wales   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Wrexham
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here to do some walking in North Wales and to Visit Portmierion village.
Great location, but it is in the wilds a bit, However this added to it's charm and it was very peaceful and relaxing in a beautiful location. It is quite far down a farm track/road, but keep going and you will get there.

Room was a little small for a double, but it was acceptable. It was clean and every thing worked etc. Bathroom was good as well.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and it was very good(But not cheap).
Breakfast was again very good with the cooked breakfast made to order.

Staff were welcoming and friendly and there is ample parking outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    15
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
29
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The Brynllydan is a small well appointed country hotel with excellent views and friendly staff. The food is excellent and the rooms offer a comfortable nights sleep. I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing accommodation in the area. Well done. ☺

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

we went here last night for food,tho not the cheapest place to eat,it is always well presented,we have been before,but not for a while now. set in the woods well off the road,you need to drive here,or take a taxi. the food is excellent,my family enjoyed i,tthere was 10 of us,out for dinner,tho i didnt drink,the prices 4 alcohol,are not the cheapest,but as i said it is a real nice place,one of the better places to eat at,i would say,rump steak was huge,cooked just the way i asked 4 it to be,most of our party had steak,one had a rack of lamb,and one had beef Bourguignon. we were all satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset,england
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My mother and i spent two nights here and loved the place
We were lucky enough to both have recently renovated rooms which were extremely comfortable and clean
The food in the restaurant was well priced and excellent quality - delicious
A wonderful find

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have stayed at Brynllydan a few times, the staff are always friendly and polite, the room is clean with complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits and recently the room has been renovated to a high standard, fantastic views of Snowdon. Breakfast is superb and keeps you going all day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've read all the other reviews and don't want to be unfair. The hotel is in a lovely position and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. We had two rooms and the one my daughter and I shared was comfortable (the beds were lovely) and the bathroom was acceptable (I'm sorry to say was not completely clean) My husband's room was very tired and outdated. He is not fussy, but he said he was sad to see that it was not completely clean. Maybe we were very unlucky.on that particular day.
We did have an evening meal and although staff were very keen to accommodate our wishes, I'm afraid I could not eat my meal. There were flies everywhere and I found this very offputting. The carpet on the floor was grim and the chef did not seem to be wearing hygienic clothes ( a sleeveless t-shirt). I think that with a bit of attention to detail and some decorating this could be a truly wonderful hotel, but it would need to improve a lot before I would like to stay again. We stayed in another hotel, for the same price, for the rest of our stay in Snowdonia and it was superior in every way and I have given it a top rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brynllydan, Owner at Brynllydan Country Guest House, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest. we are sorry you were less than happy about your stay but some of the comments leave us a little puzzled. We accept that there were a lot of flies around at the time but every one else around the area were experiencing the same problem and all measures possible were taken to prevent any problem in the kitchen. The comment about the carpet also leaves us a little confused as all carpets have been replaced with new ones costing several thousand pounds only three years ago. I am afraid you were also mistaken about the chef`s clothing as the person you saw was me the owner, not the chef, and I do not do any cooking whatsoever. Yes the room your Husband had was not one of our best but an ongoing program of upgrading is in progress as you would be aware because the room you and your daughter were in had a new luxury bathroom installed only last yearjust before your stay. Cleanliness is of the utmost impotance but sometimes staff miss things and I can only apologise for this. I think the majority of comments from guests give a true picture of brynllydan Hotel, but you are of course entitled to your opinion. Regards, J Forshaw Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Disappointed to see this hotel/Resturant on trip advisor we wanted to keep quite about it . It is that good...great location excellent food wonderful friendly staff. I am not going to tell you any more in case you all go and I can not get a room next time
Stan

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brynllydan Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynllydan Country Guest House

Address: Llanfrothen, Penrhyndeudraeth LL48 6DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Penrhyndeudraeth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Penrhyndeudrae...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run bed & breakfast Guest House is situated in seven acres of private grounds and is surrounded by the spectacular scenery of the Snowdonia National Park. Guests enjoy stunning views across the Vale of Glaslyn to some of the highest mountains in England and Wales including Mount Snowdon, while having nearby access to local towns, amenities and leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brynllydan Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brynllydan Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.