We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Winifride's We'll Holywell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Winifred's Well

St. Winifred's Well
Holywell, Holywell, Wales
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Attractions in Holywell
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
lymm cheshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“St Winifride's We'll Holywell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We called here this am and found a most beautiful peaceful place. It was very quiet as we arrived early. Amazing things have happened here and you are welcome to partake of the icy water by plunging in 3 times. I did manage to get my feet and hands in and get a bottle of holy water from from the well. I would like to return if I lived near I would certainly visit often. The shop and coffee shop are excellent and overall I would definitely recommend.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Weird but strangely evocative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

For centuries people have gathered here and apparently been cured of all kinds of ailments. It only costs about 80p to get in and £1.99 for a holy water bottle. This beats Lourdes! I dipped my feet in the pool and nearly stripped off to jump in it's freezing waters. The well was on top form with loads of water seeping up. They built a church right on top. The well is under the vaulted arches. The legend has it that st Winifred was assaulted by a local chieftain but her brother took his revenge. Not sure about the truth of the story about her head being chopped off and then her coming back to life! Good walks around here too although you get the impression that it's a bit dilapidated.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“No need to be religious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Been here a few times, once when I was a kid, then again when returning to the area, on the north Wales coast, amazing how few local people know about it considering its religious importance by local I mean Wirral, Merseyside, Cheshire. It is a good place to visit and interesting don't forget your bottle to fill up.
Looking deeper into the story of St Winifred there is a second much smaller and quite remote Well near Oswestry I went on a drive one Sunday to find it and did fairly easily, if interested do some research and go.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a very peaceful place to visit, best to choose a day when no coaches then the well is virtually your own. Love the well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

worth 40p visit, quite emotional place to visit nice and relaxing and sense of peace and calm. would visit again, felt a sense of been cleansed and chilled after our visit. i did not partake of a blessing or the waters but still a spiritual experience

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Winifred's Well also viewed

 

Been to St. Winifred's Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Winifred's Well, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.