We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Roosevelt Inn to your Saves list
Roosevelt Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 Cemetery Road, Keystone, SD 57751 (Formerly Guesthouse Mount Rushmore)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed one night at the Roosevelt Inn in one of the Loft Suites. The bathroom was tiny. However, the room was clean, convenient and a short drive to Mount Rushmore and other attractions. A continental breakfast was also offered in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    45
    35
    14
    10
See reviews for
73
35
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We spent one night here during a weekend excursion to Mount Rushmore. Location being everything, you cannot beat the Roosevelt Inn in Keystone SD. I would not recommend staying in Custer, it's just too far away from the Monument. The Roosevelt has a quaint old fashion feel to it which isn't bad. It is an older property. The elevator was very slow and creeked a lot. Because of the pizza parlor off the lobby (we didn't eat there) the lobby and even the 3rd floor hallway smelled like pizza. Fortunately our room did not smell like pizza. Even though we were on the 3rd floor, our room still looked out into the parking lot. This is because the hotel is built into a hill. If you want a quieter room,go higher than 3rd floor. It was a warm night so I opened our window. We then were treated to talking and people talking in the parking lot and locking their car doors with a beep.

The room itself was adequate. Nice size fridge. coffee maker, TV with cable (HBO) but many of the channels had very bad reception. There is a very small 1 sink area outside the bathroom which was also very small. Toilet and shower. The fan was loud but there is a heat lamp on a timer that you can use instead of the light which comes on with the fan. The Free Wi-Fi was good. The beds were comfy. For a quick over-nighter when you're not spending much time in your room, this Hotel will meet your needs nicely.

The breakfast in the morning was a standard continental breakfast. Coffee,OJ, pastries, muffins, croissants, hot french toast and waffles (pre-made), cold cereal, hard boiled eggs.

Check in and out was a breeze. The couple that runs the hotel were very nice from our limited interaction with them.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony higer than the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Roosevelt Inn offers a convenient location for a decent price, especially when compared to other hotels in the area. It was a short drive to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, and Custer State Park. There were quite a few restaurants and shops within walking distance. A continental breakfast every morning offered a variety of breakfast food items in the lobby. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, I was amazed at how quiet it was, some of the room items could be updated (only about 10 TV stations, WiFi was spotty at best, bathroom and balcony doors were hard to open/close). Definitely an average hotel, but I was pleased with what I got for my money.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony patio are a great upgrade - the balcony was a perfect place to sit and relax wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Roosevelt was a great choice for me. Price was great. Wasnt a problem when i wanted to add a couple days to my stay. Rooms were clean. Cable could have been better but didnt go there to watch T.V. Breakfast was tasty!!!.Might want to try for room with balcony view was nice.

Room Tip: Get a balcony!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Has everything you need at a very affordable price. Also in a great location. Attractions, food, and shops nearby. Could use some updating but overall in average shape. Would recommend to friends. Breakfast is nothing special but its food. Rooms are clean. Hot tub needs stronger Jets.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Roosevelt Inn is centrally located in Keystone near all the area attractions. The Inn sits at the base of Mt. Rushmore. The rooms are clean and the staff are very knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast is not five star but does provide enough to get your day started. All in all they provide a nice room with a balcony for a decent price. Close to all the highways and roads needed to see Mt. Rushmore, Custer Park, Black Hills and Rushmore Cave. We would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Place is conveniently close to Mt. Rushmore (5 min. away from site!!!!!). The room had a funky smell but not bad as those cheap motels. Other than that the one issue I had is the microwave being in the hall rather than in the room itself (I had a standard room). The fridge was a HUGE plus!

If your stay is exclusive to visit Rushmore & nearby areas (Custer & Crazy Horse, etc) and if your day is to be spent mostly outside, then this is a good choice. I spent all day outside and returned to my room to rest up, then I quickly went back outside (just in time for the night ceremony at Rushmore).

Besides the little issues I mentioned above, I would definitely choose to stay there again.

The place has a Pizza Restaurant inside.

If you have a AAA membership, they can offer you discounts!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Address: 206 Cemetery Road, Keystone, SD 57751 (Formerly Guesthouse Mount Rushmore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family owned and operated, limited-service hotel located in the city limits of Keystone, SD, at the base of Mt. Rushmore National Memorial. Property has a variety of rooms, ranging from small, economy rooms with one queen sized bed to large family suites that can accommodate up to seven persons. Pool & Hot Tub operate seasonally (June, July, August). Airport transfers available at a nominal charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roosevelt Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.