We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most things good....a few problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Four Presidents Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Four Presidents Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Four Presidents Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24075 Highway 16A, Keystone, SD 57751   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Keystone
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Most things good....a few problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. We chose this property because of it's location to Mt. Rushmore and the other Black Hills attractions. We were not disappointed with the location. It's outside of the main Keystone area, but it's less than 5 minutes to drive there. Our room faced the back and we saw deer and wild turkeys. The hotel itself is very nice - beautiful lobby, nice pool, exercise room, computer in the lobby (never had to wait more than 5 minutes to use this), big breakfast area. There were, however, a few issues. The wake up calls did not work at all (it's an automated system that you set yourself). We tried all 3 mornings and it didn't work even once. Luckily, they had a clock radio in the room which we were able to set, otherwise we would have been in trouble. We told someone on the 2nd day and they said it was a new system, they would look into it. On the 3rd morning when we were on our way to breakfast, we mentioned it again, and the lady on duty got very defensive and snapped at my husband. I thought she could have been more professional. But to her credit, later when we were checking out, she did apologize. Overall, the foods at the breakfast area were fine. It was a large area, clean, the TV was on if you wanted to catch the morning news...however, the 1st morning the juice machine was not working at all (apple and orange juice). The 2nd morning, only the apple juice worked - and it tasted terrible. The 3rd morning both worked - but again, both the apple juice and the oj tasted bad. I would have liked for them to have at least put out some pitchers of water, at least on the days that the machine was not working. If you don't drink coffee or tea, you had nothing. I asked about ice water, and they said I had to go down the hall to get my own ice (the entire length of the building). The 2nd morning, after walking down the hall to get the ice, that ice machine was out of ice, so now we had to walk to another floor. It was extremely inconvenient, to say the least. I suppose some people are fine with water right out of the tap, but we like ice. On a positive note - all the people in the breakfast area were very friendly. Despite our few issues, it was a very nice property and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    119
    42
    19
    14
See reviews for
147
100
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, AL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2006

Nice pool. Good breakfast. Clean and comfortable rooms. Close to Rushmore and the other touristy things to do in that area. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

My focus to going to Keystone was to spend the day at the July 3rd fireworks at Mt. Rushmore so I was looking for a close hotel that was hopefully, safe, clean and quiet.
We first stopped by the hotel on the 3rd and asked for a late checkin and they accomodated us. So we went and spent the day at mt. rushmore and watched the fireworks. By the time we got to the hotel it was 11:30 pm.

The checkin was quick. The room was nice, large and clean. Now I paid $128 for the room and stayed at much better hotels for the price. But when you are there for the fireworks, all the hotels are expensive.

This one seemed not too bad for the money. Next morning we were up, had our breakfast buffet and then gone. So can't say there was anything bad about it. But if you are driving all the way to Keystone just to spend the day at the hotel, then you need to re-evaluate why you are going.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

The attitude of the front desk staff was awful.They never acknowledged your presence and the client was always forced to start the conversation and in return the responses of the staff were monosylabic.All of them looked as though they had just been given bad news.Not a friendly place to stay.

Pity because the accomodation and the location were fine

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2006

My family and I went to This hotel on June 12, 2006.
When I made the reservation I requested a non-smoking room as well as internet in my room. We did not get any of these requests.

When checking out, we presented our complaints to the owner of this hotel, but he acted as if our complaints met little to him. Too bad, but you are paying the full amount, he implied. He kept on saying "everybody knows that room 315 is not internet wired", as if it were somehow our fault we did not get an Internet-accessible room. We didn't refuse to pay the bill, but we suggested a discount would have been appropriate, since we had to sleep in a room where a previous guest had obviously smoked (the smell was terrible) and we were not able to use the internet from our room. We had to pay the full $131, which is well above what other hotels in the area charge. Sometimes you think that paying more will get you more, but not in this case!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Four Presidents Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Four Presidents Lodge

Address: 24075 Highway 16A, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Four Presidents Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Four Presidents Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Four Presidents Hotel Keystone
Best Western Plus 4 Presidents Lodge
Best Western Keystone
Keystone Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Four Presidents Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.