We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of K Bar S Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added K Bar S Lodge to your Saves list
K Bar S Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   434 Old Hill City Road, Keystone, SD 57751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at K Bar S Lodge so much, we booked a room for our return trip home. The Lodge is tranquil and relaxing with beautiful scenery. The balcony of our room had a side view of Mount Rushmore. It was amazing. The Lodge is only a couple of minutes drive from Keystone, but without the noise and commercialism. The Continental breakfast was good and the front desk was very helpful. The rooms were very clean and had a refrigerator for those interested.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    150
    31
    10
    1
See reviews for
202
203
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband, grandson and I recently took a quick trip to the Black Hills so our grandson could visit Bear Country again (he loves Bear Country). I decided to look for a place outside of Rapid City this time and read the reviews for the K Bar S Lodge and decided to give the place a try.

I got a discount if I booked on a Monday so I did that. It was a quiet and clean location.

My grandson loved the wildlife on the grounds. One evening a deer walked up to him as he was heading to the fire pit to see if one of the boys he had met the night before was there.

We took a walk on one of the trails after dinner and managed to get to the train tracks in time to wave to the people returning from Hill City on the 1880s train. We even got a pizza recommendation from the desk clerk because that is what our grandson wanted for dinner. It was a little pricey but good.

Based on reviews I read before heading there I took an ethernet cable for my laptop knowing there wasn't wi-fi service in the rooms. However we were pleasantly surprised to have decent cell service because you never know what reception you will get in SD.

It has been the nicest location that we have stayed at while visiting the Black Hills region off and on for over ten years. Wish we had discovered it sooner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I were traveling west and decided to take an extra evening for ourselves and were thrilled to have found such a beautiful and clean place to stay!! The view of the mountain was amazing! Very friendly staff!!
We will be back next summer with kids!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We saw the great reviews here and called up to get a room for the 4th of July weekend. We were fortunate to get the only room open and that was only due to a last minute cancellation. After having stayed there I can totally see why they book up so quickly! This cozy yet very well appointed lodge is tucked into the beautiful pine forest just outside of the downtown area of Keystone. Quiet and serene surroundings made for a very pleasant stay. We were told our room would be in the recently upgraded building - all new features, the room was beautifully done, and super clean. And the bonus was to have a view of Rushmore off of our balcony - even better at night when they light it up! The front desk staff was super friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. The included breakfast was tasty and filling - continental style with make your own belgian waffles and two different hot items each day. Breakfast was in their glass enclosed event room with a lovely view of the forest, some wild turkeys roaming the grounds, and with the option to sit outside to enjoy the cool morning air too. And at night you could pick up a smores kit and sit by the large fire pit on their main lawn. The only thing we couldn't get in our room was wi-fi service. Unless you were in the lobby of the main lodge you couldn't get a signal. I asked the staff and was told it was something they were definitely going to improve upon in the future; and that technology improvements were slow to come to their area, having only just received cell reception 2 years ago. But this was pretty much the case for everywhere in SD - sometimes you had bars and sometimes you didn't. No matter as it was very nice to "disconnect" for a while. We couldn't see it all in our short trip there so we plan to come back and stay here next time too. Highly recommend the K Bar S lodge!

Room Tip: Ask for the first or second building near the entrance, top floor, and with Mt. Rushmore view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently visited Mount Rushmore and stayed one night at the K Bar S Lodge. I made the reservation based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. The lodge is located just a short walking distance from Keystone town and around the block from the steam train ride. I booked a queen room with a profile view of Mount Rushmore. You were able to see Washington and Jefferson profile from far away. It was cool when it was lit up at night. We were on the second floor, but the set up is such that you park and can roll your suitcases on a ramp that is on the second floor level. The front desk told me that it was tough to get internet in my room without an ethernet cable, so I was given one for the night to plug in my laptop, with no problems. The breakfast was plentiful and varied, provided in a beautiful room with a mountain view. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were there for two nights. Got a room overlooking Mount Rushmore. View was a little distant, but stunning at night when it was lit up. The lodge is less than a mile from the busy town of Keystone, but you would think it was in the middle of nowhere when you arrive. Saw lots of wildlife here. I think there was more to see and do on the lodge grounds, but we ran out of tim.e

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The K Bar S Lodge is a beautiful hotel/resort nestled in the Black Hills of South Dakota, very near Mount Rushmore. Surrounded by a pine forest, it was a quiet, wonderful place to stay! The front desk staff was helpful and knowledgeable of the surrounding area.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good! Ours had a view of Mount Rushmore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.8 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#9 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Bar S Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Bar S Lodge

Address: 434 Old Hill City Road, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — K Bar S Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your K Bar S Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Bar s Hotel Keystone
k Bar s Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K Bar S Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.