We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of K Bar S Lodge

Save Saved
You added K Bar S Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
K Bar S Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   434 Old Hill City Road, Keystone, SD 57751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband, grandson and I recently took a quick trip to the Black Hills so our grandson could visit Bear Country again (he loves Bear Country). I decided to look for a place outside of Rapid City this time and read the reviews for the K Bar S Lodge and decided to give the place a try.

I got a discount if I booked on a Monday so I did that. It was a quiet and clean location.

My grandson loved the wildlife on the grounds. One evening a deer walked up to him as he was heading to the fire pit to see if one of the boys he had met the night before was there.

We took a walk on one of the trails after dinner and managed to get to the train tracks in time to wave to the people returning from Hill City on the 1880s train. We even got a pizza recommendation from the desk clerk because that is what our grandson wanted for dinner. It was a little pricey but good.

Based on reviews I read before heading there I took an ethernet cable for my laptop knowing there wasn't wi-fi service in the rooms. However we were pleasantly surprised to have decent cell service because you never know what reception you will get in SD.

It has been the nicest location that we have stayed at while visiting the Black Hills region off and on for over ten years. Wish we had discovered it sooner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    112
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
144
152
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I were traveling west and decided to take an extra evening for ourselves and were thrilled to have found such a beautiful and clean place to stay!! The view of the mountain was amazing! Very friendly staff!!
We will be back next summer with kids!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We saw the great reviews here and called up to get a room for the 4th of July weekend. We were fortunate to get the only room open and that was only due to a last minute cancellation. After having stayed there I can totally see why they book up so quickly! This cozy yet very well appointed lodge is tucked into the beautiful pine forest just outside of the downtown area of Keystone. Quiet and serene surroundings made for a very pleasant stay. We were told our room would be in the recently upgraded building - all new features, the room was beautifully done, and super clean. And the bonus was to have a view of Rushmore off of our balcony - even better at night when they light it up! The front desk staff was super friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. The included breakfast was tasty and filling - continental style with make your own belgian waffles and two different hot items each day. Breakfast was in their glass enclosed event room with a lovely view of the forest, some wild turkeys roaming the grounds, and with the option to sit outside to enjoy the cool morning air too. And at night you could pick up a smores kit and sit by the large fire pit on their main lawn. The only thing we couldn't get in our room was wi-fi service. Unless you were in the lobby of the main lodge you couldn't get a signal. I asked the staff and was told it was something they were definitely going to improve upon in the future; and that technology improvements were slow to come to their area, having only just received cell reception 2 years ago. But this was pretty much the case for everywhere in SD - sometimes you had bars and sometimes you didn't. No matter as it was very nice to "disconnect" for a while. We couldn't see it all in our short trip there so we plan to come back and stay here next time too. Highly recommend the K Bar S lodge!

Room Tip: Ask for the first or second building near the entrance, top floor, and with Mt. Rushmore view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently visited Mount Rushmore and stayed one night at the K Bar S Lodge. I made the reservation based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. The lodge is located just a short walking distance from Keystone town and around the block from the steam train ride. I booked a queen room with a profile view of Mount Rushmore. You were able to see Washington and Jefferson profile from far away. It was cool when it was lit up at night. We were on the second floor, but the set up is such that you park and can roll your suitcases on a ramp that is on the second floor level. The front desk told me that it was tough to get internet in my room without an ethernet cable, so I was given one for the night to plug in my laptop, with no problems. The breakfast was plentiful and varied, provided in a beautiful room with a mountain view. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were there for two nights. Got a room overlooking Mount Rushmore. View was a little distant, but stunning at night when it was lit up. The lodge is less than a mile from the busy town of Keystone, but you would think it was in the middle of nowhere when you arrive. Saw lots of wildlife here. I think there was more to see and do on the lodge grounds, but we ran out of tim.e

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The K Bar S Lodge is a beautiful hotel/resort nestled in the Black Hills of South Dakota, very near Mount Rushmore. Surrounded by a pine forest, it was a quiet, wonderful place to stay! The front desk staff was helpful and knowledgeable of the surrounding area.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good! Ours had a view of Mount Rushmore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at the K Bar S Lodge last week and loved it. The grounds are beautiful. Tucked away from the crazy main street of Keystone with a fabulous profile view of Mt. Rushmore. Took advantage of the free laundry and one dollar soap available at the front desk. Breakfast facility is beautiful. Room very clean and comfortable. Front desk clerk made suggestion to eat at the Powder House in town and it was terrific. I would advice anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Get a view of Rushmore room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to K Bar S Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Bar S Lodge

Address: 434 Old Hill City Road, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — K Bar S Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your K Bar S Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Bar s Hotel Keystone
k Bar s Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K Bar S Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.