We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in quiet setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of K Bar S Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added K Bar S Lodge to your Saves list
K Bar S Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   434 Old Hill City Road, Keystone, SD 57751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in quiet setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent four nights in August 2013 at the K Bar S. It was nice to be just a little bit outside of the "downtown" of Keystone. We had a first floor balcony room with a view of Mt. Rushmore. Don't expect to see much of the monument, unless you bring some binoculars, but the view is very nice anyway. You can see the monument, but it is not the main feature of what is a very nice view and a great place to just sit on the balcony. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony and taking in the view. The rooms without the balcony and the "monument view" would not have the same experience. The hotel is not all that busy. Being on the first floor was fine, although some people prefer the second floor. I was happy enough to have one less stair case to go up, after recent knee surgery.

The staff was friendly and available. The breakfast was standard for mid tier "free" continental breakfast, plus a hot item every day. The precooked omelet looked a little odd, but it was pretty good.

Besides the balcony, there are lots of ways to enjoy the location. The lobby is designed for social gathering. The lobby has its own balcony. The views from the lobby and the breakfast area/conference center are nice. There are walking trails around the property. You enjoy the beauty of the area. Even if Keystone has only one stop light, the immediate downtown area is pretty busy and would not offer the same relaxing experience.

Internet availability is limited mainly to the lobby. I found one chair in particular in the middle of the lobby where the wireless internet reception was excellent. Cell phone coverage was better. I was able to conduct a long business call on the balcony of the lobby, and probably could have done so from my room. The screeching whistle of the train from Keystone to Hill City surprised my colleagues.

All that said, this is a place to go to get away, not to mix business with pleasure if you can help it. This is true both of the K Bar S and the Black Hills generally. The K Bar S fits this bill very well. It is well run, comfortable, quiet, with a good, friendly staff. It is much better than staying in town (which is only half a mile away anyway). We were very happy during our stay. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and a view. The second floor rooms may have better views, but our first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    117
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
151
166
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This our 2nd stay at the lodge. The setting is so peaceful and scenic even in peak tourist season. There is a beautiful view of Mt Rushmore from the balconies and gorgeous grounds with abundant wildlxifeThe rooms are comfortable, quiet and very clean. The staff are friendly and very helpful. They have a complementary breakfast which is really delicious. They provide dinners for weddings, conventions etc. Families only need to go down a short distance to Keystone to dine. The grounds are fun the walk around and the fire pit which is going every night is a fun place to meet other guests and roast marshmallows

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are nice for the view. If you have a back room they are a little quieter bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan O, Front Office Manager at K Bar S Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi Nicki!

We greatly appreciate your kind and helpful review! We also thank you for choosing our lodge when you stay in the Black Hills. I'm very excited to say we just completed updates for all the rooms. Which include; Keurig coffee makers, MP3 alarm clocks, refrigerators, new towels and bedding. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

When we checked in our second floor room that was assigned to us was occupied and we were placed on the first floor. The view wasn't t as good and the curtains had to be closed or people could see in the room. If you can't get a second floor room don't pay the added price for a balcony. The staff was accommodating but there was a wedding on Satuday night and parking was compromised.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I spent six nights (August 18-23) at the K Bar S with a Road Scholar group and loved it. The setting was beautiful and quiet, my room was comfortable and had all the amenities one expects in an upscale hotel, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was all delicious. (I think individuals staying there have breakfast only -- that lunches and dinners are for groups, but I wanted to say to anybody who might be going there as part of a group to expect great food.) The only negative was that the internet is quite slow. It took me forever to upload pictures and videos (via ethernet -- wifi doesn't work outside of the main building, so be sure to take an ethernet cable if you want to be connected in your room). Overall, I loved my stay at the K Bar S and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan O, Front Office Manager at K Bar S Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hello NM43!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I completely agree with your comments regarding our staff. We take pride in our customer service and strive to be as helpful as possible. Thank you for bringing up the internet difficulties here. I am happy to say Keystone is upgrading to fiber optic lines in the area, this means our internet service will be much faster and more stable. We thank you for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEBRASKA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Second time we have stayed at the K Bar S Lodge by Keystone SD. As with the first time we were amazed at the beauty of the lodge. Peaceful, wildlife at hand and a view of Mount Rushmore from our balcony. Large, clean rooms, better than average breakfast and a great staff. Thank you K Bar S for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan O, Front Office Manager at K Bar S Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi HCTRAVELLER10!

Thank you very much for your review of our Lodge. We also thank you for choosing the K Bar S Lodge again! We hope that every traveler arrives as guests and leave as friends. We hope to see you again on your next trip through the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Compared to everywhere else that one could stay when in Keystone, be it to visit Mount Rushmore or any other tourist attraction, K Bar S Lodge is a perfect little spot tucked so well into the natural surroundings, you'd think Hobbits were going to come out of their hollows. Not only is the area it's situated in the perfect amount of distance from the main road, but there were deer and wild turkeys wandering about the area, at times close enough that it was unbelievable. Still, after a 15 hour drive from Chicago non-stop, the KBS Lodge was, without a doubt, a godsend.

The room we opted for offered two queen beds and the fifth member of our party was accommodated with a queen-sized air mattress that we'd brought, all of which was more than able to fit comfortably in the space. While one bathroom can be a strain on any group of people, somehow, it wasn't an issue for us. However, given that we only stayed two nights and spent just enough time in the room to sleep, our uncaring attitude toward the space issue makes a bit more sense.

That being said, the room was perfect for our purposes and stellar for the price. It was clean, well-kept and no worse for wear whatsoever. It wasn't plagued by typical hotel issues like being too hot or cold, odds sounds at night from a leaky sink or faucet or noisy neighbors. Everything was just great for crashing out after a long day of travelling and exploring the surrounding areas.

It bears mentioning that the continental breakfast offered on the other side of lodge from 6:30am - 9:30am was better than the typical offerings at most hotels. No, it wasn't worthy of the Ritz, but it was definitely warm, tasted good and plentiful -- all the hallmarks that matter when getting ready to hit the road. It had a bit of everything, waffles with toppings, omelettes, french toast, sausage, a plethora of juices. But the fact that it was built into the cost of the room, and saved us from running around town for the first meal of the day, definitely makes K Bar S Lodge worthy of a return visit should we ever head back to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan O, Front Office Manager at K Bar S Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hello Andrew!

Thank you for your in-depth review of our facility. We really are tucked away in a beautiful location. On a daily basis we have visitors such as deer, wild turkeys, squirrels, yellow-bellied marmots, and a variety of bird life. I will gladly pass on the kudos to our housekeepers for keeping our Lodge spotless. We hope you stay with us again on your next trip through the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in July 2013! Rooms were clean, spacious, and nicely decorated! We had a 2nd floor room with a balcony which we could see Mt. Rushmore from which we loved! The lodge and grounds were beautiful! Also the staff was very nice and the breakfast was great! Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan O, Front Office Manager at K Bar S Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi PattyJo324!

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad you and your husband enjoyed the deck room with the view of Mount Rushmore. We agree with you and think the lodge and grounds are beautiful! Our staff truly cares about the guests and will be thrilled to hear the compliments. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to K Bar S Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Bar S Lodge

Address: 434 Old Hill City Road, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — K Bar S Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your K Bar S Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Bar s Hotel Keystone
k Bar s Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K Bar S Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.