We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible parking, and no view of Mt. Rushmore” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Rushmore's President View Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mt. Rushmore's President View Resort to your Saves list
Mt. Rushmore's President View Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   106 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible parking, and no view of Mt. Rushmore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Motel was clean, however the room was barely bigger than the two beds, and the sink was located in the bathroom- difficult to get ready if a family. Parking was difficult to maneuver but close to shopping!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    44
    47
    53
    52
See reviews for
106
80
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was our second visit here . From the first visit I knew it was clean and I didn't want to have to hunt around for a room . It gives me a feeling of a time share presentation at check in . Their sign advertises rooms from $49 single and probably there is only one available . The girl at the front desk was fabulous . She was very friendly and had a terrific smile . We all have accents also , but hers was so cute we couldn't concentrate on what she was saying . We felt sorry for her because she seemed to be doing all the work and the other employees were standing around .
Their M.O. is to offer higher rates and then work down in price . $189 for 2 beds and view of Rushmore . From the parking area you can barely make out George Washington and Jefferson . Plus the lights are turned off at 11 , so spending more on the Rushmore view isn't worth it . Next offer was $159 for same room without the view . We said we only needed a basic room and got one for $99 .
The room is clean but crowded with not much room to place your luggage . Space between beds is very limited . Minimal TV channels and wifi for our room was spotty to non existent even though we were close to the lobby . Both vending machines I tried didn't work . No breakfast is available .
This property is part of a group of at least 2 others . One of the other places we stayed at in the past and had the same experiences .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Was very happy with our weekend stay at the President's View Resort in Keystone, SD in June 2014 Would definitely recommend & would stay here again.

Staff was pleasant when booking the rooms and we were always pleasantly greeted with a helpful smile.....even when we checked in at 2am!
The location of the hotel is ideal; you can’t miss it on top of the hill. It is less than 5-minute walk from the hotel to the main street shops and restaurants. Also, all of the area’s fun attractions are within a few minute drive: Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Bed Rock, Bear Country, heli-rides, hot mineral springs, caves, zipline, lifts, just to name a few of the fun-do activities.

The rooms themselves are fairly basic; however, our room had more than we needed for a fair price: two comfortable double/queen beds, a microwave, mini-fridge and plenty of room for sitting and storing items. Our room appeared to be recently painted and had updated décor. The room was very clean, no dust, no bugs (yes, we looked), smelled fresh and smoke-free. The air-conditioner was nice and icy too. Linens were bright, clean and the bathroom had nice hot, strong water pressure. There was not any shampoo/conditioner, so remember to bring your own. The indoor pool and hot tub area was very nice treat and was not crowded. The outdoor patio overlooking the main street was neat too. The hotel does not offer breakfast. Checkout was fast and there were not any surprise charges.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

After many hours of driving from twin cities, Minnesota, we arrived late at Mt. Rushmore, Keystone and this place gave us the best rate than any other Keystone hotels. The hotel's location provides bird's view downhill offering a quiet and clean environment for a perfect stay. Jonathan and Anubhab were very professional and friendly. The following morning, Jonathan offered to make tea for us, and this made us feel at home as we were having a cup of chai.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Better off sleeping in your car. Horrible hotel. They do not have breakfast, and we had to go to the front desk to ask for toiletries. They had poor rooms and service for a high price. Go buy a room in Rapid City, they are much better.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car. It's better than the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

It was late and we needed a place to stay. Jonathan, Anubhab, and Ila welcomed us with open arms. They provided us with the best service and gave us the best rates in all of Keystones. Thank you guys.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

While staying over for two extra days (Jeep broke down) we toured in our truck w cab over camper. Checked all (yes all) the places in town and they all quoted the same rate (surprise) They ranged from from trashy to great, but this one turned out to be the best for our needs, parking and price. It had an indoor pool and spa (40 degrees out at nite)
clean sheets and easy in & out during the day. It's not with in walking distance as its at the top of the hill, the President view is there if only a side view. The management was some what slow but deligent. We were there on a Sunday and Monday nite and the place was mostly empty (preseason early June).
Wife made a deal with front desk and got a good discount so we didn't break the bank, prices that you see ie: $49.95 is per person not room rate!! For a short notice situation this was a good find!.

Room Tip: We ask for room next to pool and exit door #135 good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Rushmore's President View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Rushmore's President View Resort

Address: 106 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57702
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mt. Rushmore's President View Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mt. Rushmore's President View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Rushmore`s Presidents View Hotel Keystone
Presidents View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Rushmore's President View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.