We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort to your Saves list
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Swanzey Street, P.O. BOX 649, Keystone, SD 57751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

It was just ok. 2 queen beds, ADA access, staff were very polite to me but were very rude to each other in my presence which made check in uncomfortable but it was literally one of the last hotels with any rooms left in Keystone so we didn't really have a choice.

The beds were very worn out and the bed spreads were that old nasty polyester blend. The pillows were super old, flat as pancakes.

The sheets were very clean, soft and white.

$129 plus tax so $141 total

Location was nice because it was close to everything.

A/C in our room worked great.

Like I said, it was just ok.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I read the reviews of other guests on this hotel and went back and forth, because they weren't great. I wanted to stay in Keystone so we would be close to see Mt. Rushmore, so we took a chance. WE LOVED THIS HOTEL. It was so charming. We stayed at 5 hotels on our trip. Three big names, and two not. We checked in with Scott Rodica at the front desk, who told us we were all set because we used one of the online sites. He was gracious and gave us all the info we need about the hotel, where to eat, etc. He told us our dog was no problem. Our room was a nice double, with a fireplace. (not that it was needed in July, but the kids thought it was fancy.) It came with a fridge, and microwave. There was even animals made out of towels on the bed. The room was clean, quite (even though they were booked solid). The air worked. There was a great place to walk the dog. I read complaints ranging from not comfortable, to noisy, the TV's are out dated....... We experienced nothing but a great stay. If you want to watch TV, stay home. Parking was great. As a mom traveling with two kids and a dog, I felt safe and comfortable. If I had one negative it would be that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2014Travelmom825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at the White house Resort. Our plans changed and we needed to stay another night. On the second night we had a smaller room and the tv remote would not work. Scott Rodica came to see what was happening, noticed that we were given a room that was more appropriate for someone traveling with pets (which we did not have) and asked if we would like a larger room that would be more appropriate. Scott went above and beyond to make our stay more enjoyable, which then led to an awesome vacation. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are in the keystone area. If we return to keystone on vacation again, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We loved the indoor pool! We were the only ones swimming the night we stayed there. It has recently been remodeled, so everything looks great. The tlle by the pool has a lovely impression of the mt. rushmore faces that is very beautiful. The employees were quite friendly and willing to help. There is a restaurant in the same building as well as a great saloon restaurant around the corner. The ambiance was very western feeling. I would imagine it's even more fun during the summer season.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joybelle765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We booked this hotel based on past reviews. VERY MISLEADING!!!! When we first arrived, we had a late check in guarantee. Parking was a NIGHTMARE!!!! Upon arrival, they had our key ready. The clerk, gave us directions so fast and with such a heavy accent, that we could not understand her and had to rely on the map provided to find our room. We had friends traveling with us at the last minute with no reservations. They received the same room across the hall for $49.95 + tax. Our reservations cost us $129.95 + tax.

Upon entry, I have NEVER seen such a small room! The room stunk with mold and mildew. There was no place to set our suitcase unless I wanted to lay it across the toilet. My husband and I could not pass each other on either side of the bed. They had a dinosaur of a TV mounted to the corner of the room that we had to duck under to keep from hitting our heads if we wanted to look out the window to check on our vehicle. In addition to the horrible accomodations, the room was dirty! We located shoes and clothes from previous occupants. They were kind enough to provide a microwave. However, it was put sideways into a hole in the wall. Consequently, if you needed to use it, you would need to lift it up and out to set it onto the bathroom counter. According to the website, they advertise "pillowtop mattresses", another LIE!!! The bed was so horrible and contorted that we have to lie opposite of the headboard to keep from getting a nose bleed. The web-site also promises “meal discounts”. Don’t count on it, this comes out to be $.50 per purchase. That’s right a half of a dollar!

We tried to resolve our issues in-house but were stuck as this was 4th of July weekend.

BOTTOM LINE...... SKIP THIS HOTEL!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farrah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Keystone hotels

Sussex, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were given a large room with a hot tub, and a kitchenette. Was disappointed there was no coffee making facility in the room, but when we mentioned this to Scott (the Manager) he found us a filter coffee machine, filters and coffee. We had got caught up with the BA luggage fiasco and after 5 days in the States still didn't have our bags, Rodica, on reception kindly put our laundry through their machines and dryers for us. We enjoyed our stay although some of the towels were looking a bit tired and our mattress was a bit saggy. The hotel has an excellent indoor pool. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel is in an excellent location, just off the Main Street through Keystone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The manager for the White House Resort was very helpful. We did not plan to stay over in Mt. Rushmore but we are very apply that we did. We were unable to book the hotel on Hotels.com, but he said that he would tie care of the booking so we could get credit. Scott was true to his word. We had a great room with a hot tub and a very comfortable bed. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 584karenmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
0.1 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#8 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#10 of 11 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort

Address: 115 Swanzey Street, P.O. BOX 649, Keystone, SD 57751
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Rushmore`s White House Hotel Keystone
Mt Rushmores White Hotel
Mt Rushmores White Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing