We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, cheerful and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort

Save Saved
You added Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Swanzey Street, P.O. BOX 649, Keystone, SD 57751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheap, cheerful and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We literally got the last room in the hotel, we were staying mid September and Keystone (being so close to Mt Rushmore, Custer State Park and numerous tourist attractions) is clearly a good location. We stayed in a disabled room on the ground floor and it was huge. It had a fridge and microwave which I always like in a room and I loved the little touch of folding the towels into swans. I found the reception staff helpful however they gave me a discount card after checking in which had they given me before I had then I could have had money off the room! There was no breakfast provided but we were given 10% discount on three restaurants on town for breakfast. May I recommend the one nearest the hotel, I can't remember the name but the value for money was incredible and I had the biggest, nicest pancakes ever! The pool and pool area was lovely and quiet so we were lucky esp as our room overlooked it. I didn't particulary love Keystone as it's filled with tourist souveneir shops all selling the same thing but as I said, great location for attractions. Teddy's Deli, at the end of the strip to the hotel has amazing sandwiches. Also a visit to the nearby Reptile Gardens is well worth it.

Room Tip: Go and find a coupon book before you book in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    67
    59
    24
    30
See reviews for
91
88
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here in June 2013. It's a good location for visiting Mt. Rushmore. The room was clean and the staff friendly. We had a pet-friendly room which was great, however, the pet-friendly room was right near the door and next to the stairs. It was so loud hearing everyone enter and exit and pounding on the stairs. There was also a dog in the next room that barked for hours. The parking spots are also insanely narrow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The best thing about this resort was that it was very clean and had a great location. The resort needs updating and the beds are not very comfortable.
It is very close to Mt Rushmore but because of our fine government, it was closed. Custer State Park was open so we had a great day visiting this site.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed two nights here while we visited Mount Rushmore which is very close by. We had a small room with two small double beds in it, each pushed up against a wall, with one table and light in between. As we prefer to share a bed it meant that one of us would have to climb over the other to get out during the night and only one of us would have access to the bedside light. We managed to push one of the beds slightly away from the wall and my husband loyally offered to be the one to squeeze his way out during the night. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. This was our first (of many during this holiday) experience of the wash basin being in the bedroom mainly, it seemed to us, to allow the bathroom to be as tiny as possible, with no room at all to unpack all the stuff you need. There was a lovely pool but nowhere to leave your clothes while swimming. This is in truth just a cheap motel and like others on here I don't understand it being described as a resort.

When we asked for advice on eating we were told that their restaurant was the best in town. We looked at the menu and thought that if this was true the state of the town must be quite dire. Fortunately we found somewhere fantastic to eat. We had a nice breakfast in the hotel the first morning from the a la carte menu, but on the second morning were told that only the buffet was available. When we asked why we were told that the manager had decreed that this was the case today. We thought it was probably because there was a coach party in and it would have been too much trouble to offer the a la carte breakfast as well. We didn't care for the appearance or price of the buffet as we didn't want much to eat so we went up the road to another diner where we got exactly what we wanted at a reasonable price from a friendly girl who even cooked an English muffin for me when I said I didn't know what it was, despite being English - and she didn't charge me for it! (We call them crumpets - she had said she had heard of these but didn't know what they were! Education all round.)

The location of this hotel is excellent - everything in this cowboy town is within easy reach along the old boardwalks, with lovely shops and a few restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour. The hotel is centrally placed and is comfortable. There is a pool that on the day was quite cool and a hot tub that was incredibly hot! Coffee is available from reception. The breakfast is either a la carte or all you can eat buffet - we chose the buffet - this was a mistake it should have been all you can stomach!! We were early at 6.30am and the food was dire. Some of it tasted (?) as if it had been there from the previous day. Food in the US is normally of a high standard - this is the exception. Stay at the hotel it is ok - eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Bright hotel with good rooms and pleasant swimming pool . Their was an a feeling that in season it all may be a little different with more people as noise would reverberate . However in September great! Keystone doesn't offer a lot

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When looking for a place to stay near Mt. Rushmore,I found that this was one of the lower price places in Keystone. The rooms are small but very clean and modern looking. I have a feeling we got an updated one. There is a fridge and microwave and a table and chairs. All a bit cramped but useable. The people at the front desk were freindly and made suggestions for places to eat. Coffee was served in the morning. Ice machine was convenient. The parking was really TIGHT. We were driving a small mustang and barely fit into the spot. They must have had to have a certain number of spots for the hotel so crammed them in. Everyone was over the line and we just made our own spots!! The Motel is at the end of the town board walk and only a quick drive to Mt. Rushmore. Not sure why it would have been called a resort. Just a good motel.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort

Address: 115 Swanzey Street, P.O. BOX 649, Keystone, SD 57751
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Rushmore`s White House Hotel Keystone
Mt Rushmores White Hotel
Mt Rushmores White Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;